Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is "oh-my-goodness" good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My husband and I thought these were pretty tasty. We shook them in a ziploc bag with olive oil , salt and pepper and they had a great flavor. I didn't read the instructions well and baked them at 350 for 1/2 an hour before realizing the temp was supposed to be 425. So then I broiled them for 5 minutes. Not really crispy but SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was looking for a winter squash recipe that didn't call for a ton of sugar/butter/etc., and this fit the bill. Mine never got crispy like traditional fries, and I found I had to cook them a bit longer than 20 minutes. That may just underscore the need to slice them somewhat thinly. Mine weren't as close to sweet potato fries as I had expected from the description, but they were a welcome and healthy change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Excellent flavor; found that for a more crispy squash fry... you want to bake longer, around 40-45 minutes. Make sure not to drench the fries in olive oil since squash is very absorbent; they will turn out soggy. Make sure to SALT and pepper them, the nutmeg and cinnamon turned up the flavor a bit, too. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed what others suggested and used oil and salt and cinnamon, but they truned out mushy...not crispy at all. Big dissappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer4massage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Tasted good but couldn't get them crispy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
So easy and so delicious! Edit - Did get a little mushy after the first day will have to try reheating in the oven vs. micro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee Lei

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
These fries are totally awesome even without the salt. Sprinkle with white or brown sugar also for a grand taste but my favorite is just with a touch or salt. We could not get enough of these!!! They are as awesome as sweet potato fries. I deep fried ours in veggie oil. We love these so much I am going to fry up a bunch and take them to my mom and sisters house for them to try. This is going down in our family traditional foods!!! Thanks soooooooooooooooooooo much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
These were fantastic. Did them with sea salt and paprika. I couldn't stop eating them and I don't usually like squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
These were TERRIFIC as written...I tried adding spices other reviewers added, and they were also tasty that way...but they are truly good without olive oil, and with salt only...I used a potato peeler to remove the outer skin before slicing into fries...worked great! Thanks for this healthy way to enjoy fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States