Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
The timing seemed to be way off. I cooked these for 55 minutes, and they still never got crispy, more like chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
this is SO good! I used my food processor and sliced the butternut squash thin like chips. It was so delicious it didn't even need oil or salt. I am definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These were fantastic. I did what everyone suggested and coat with olive oil and then sprinkle with kosher salt, cinnamon and a lil nutmeg. What a great way to make healthy fries! My hubby even loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZDSRTROZE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parks, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is "oh-my-goodness" good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyscookin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My husband and I thought these were pretty tasty. We shook them in a ziploc bag with olive oil , salt and pepper and they had a great flavor. I didn't read the instructions well and baked them at 350 for 1/2 an hour before realizing the temp was supposed to be 425. So then I broiled them for 5 minutes. Not really crispy but SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I was looking for a winter squash recipe that didn't call for a ton of sugar/butter/etc., and this fit the bill. Mine never got crispy like traditional fries, and I found I had to cook them a bit longer than 20 minutes. That may just underscore the need to slice them somewhat thinly. Mine weren't as close to sweet potato fries as I had expected from the description, but they were a welcome and healthy change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Excellent flavor; found that for a more crispy squash fry... you want to bake longer, around 40-45 minutes. Make sure not to drench the fries in olive oil since squash is very absorbent; they will turn out soggy. Make sure to SALT and pepper them, the nutmeg and cinnamon turned up the flavor a bit, too. So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I followed what others suggested and used oil and salt and cinnamon, but they truned out mushy...not crispy at all. Big dissappointment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer4massage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Tasted good but couldn't get them crispy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
So easy and so delicious! Edit - Did get a little mushy after the first day will have to try reheating in the oven vs. micro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandee Lei

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States