Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were good, but soggy. Will make again once I can figure out how to keep them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I tossed them in a bit of olive oil and salt before baking. They were so good my kids didn't realize they weren't regular ole fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Awesome!! After adding olive oil I covered it with a cajun seasoning. SO SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I used the suggestions of some of the other reviewers. I cut into fairly small slices (smaller than in the picture), set out for 5 min., seasoned with salt and pepper, and pressed with paper towel. I brushed some olive oil on before baking on broiler. Halfway through the 30 min. time I turned the pieces and brushed olive oil on that side. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These were full of flavor and easy to make. Like others, mine came out mushy, not crisp. No matter, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
these are yummy! i have gotten our family hooked on these (even an extremely picky 5 yr old who wont touch veggies!!). To make them less soggy: cut the squash, salt it, then let it sit for like 5 mins, then pat dry with a paper towel. Salt/season again then cook on broiler pan. They must be cooked at least 40 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
flavor was very good. But that was all. Maybe I cut them to thin. They mushed all up. We just ate the mushed up "fries". Don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very tasty. I made one half of the squash following the directions almsot exactly. I sprayed with cooking spray was the only alteration. The other half I coated in melted Brummel and Brown butter (yogart butter) and added a little cinnaman and netmeg. Both were great. I was able to use a veggie peeler to peel the squash which was a lot easier than using a knife, especially for someone who tends to cut themselves a lot :). Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good! Even my doubtful 11 year old son enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I used some olive oil, salt, roasted garlic and tossed. I used a broiler pan so the liquid would fall through the holes. They were tender in about 30 minutes, but I couldn't seem to get them crispy. They still taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States