Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I lightly sprayed the fries with my version of seasoned olive oil, lightly sprinkled with sea salt & then used my 16" cast iron dutch oven to bake them on a camp out. You will need to remove the lid & turn them mid point, but what a camp fire hit:-)) The Trail Chef
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Excellent. The whole family loved them. I added olive oil and salt as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I treated like we do zuchini or eggplant. salt them and put them on a papertowel and let the salt pull water from them...then oil, season and bake. HUGE difference and more like fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I'm sorry, too mushy and not at all like fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
SOOOOO good!!! My household is not a huge fan of squash including me, I only like a tiny bit at thanksgiving but this was a great healthy way to get everyone eating it a bit more! I cut up into fry shapes & put in a zip lock bag with just enough olive oil to coat them (didn't want them to get soggy!) Then sprinkled cinnamon & nutmeg on them. I didn't measure anything just eyeballed it. Turned out great! My only complaint was that it was a tad bit soggy (not my complaint I still thought they were good but still could have been crispier!) Next time I think I will broil them close to the heat to get them to crisp up a bit....or bake them halfway then finish them off broiled! Either way great recipe!!! Nice alternative to sweet potato fries....its nice to switch it up a bit sometimes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
YUM! Cinnamon+nutmeg and another batch of garlic powder+salt in the oven now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Delicious! I coated the 'fries' in vegetable oil to help the salt, pepper and nutmeg stick and it was FABULOUS! My husband has been begging me to bake some more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hesster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This did not turn out well. After reading all the reviews I thought they would take a long time to cook but after 15 minutes I smelled them burning and they were! I heated the pan first as some suggested but they were still soggie (the ones that weren't burnt). Won't try these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Piccioni-Hann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Magdalena, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
These are very tasty but with or without oil I could not get them to be crispy enough to be like fries. Still would make again even as is, but will keep trying to get them crispy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Made with acorn squash by accident and was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeneml
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States