Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
First, read all reviews! I coated my slices in a mixture of olive oil, garlic salt and parsley to taste. Cooked at recommended temp for 15 minutes on the second to highest rack (pan was coated with foil). The fries were cooked, but not crispy. I turned my broiler on low for another 15 minutes, thus avoiding the need to turn them over as the tin foil crisped the underside. HUGE winner with me and my 4 year old twins ate them up without question or ketchup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I found the fries rather mushy and even used less olive oil than required. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg as recommended which spiced them up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I had some butternut squash and wanted to do something with them that wasn't too sweet. This was simple and delicious! My 2 year old and I couldn't get enough of them. My 4 year old tolerated them with ketchup and my husband said they were okay. I tossed in olive oil and sprinkled with just a little salt. I put foil on the baking sheet so clean up was a breeze. Personally, I like them better than real fries. Definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Meh-mushy, but I could see how they would taste good with a different texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were much better than sweet potato fries. I could eat this again. I only gave it a 3 star, because they were soft on the inside. I will try to make again, and try the idea of salting and then placing on towel to draw out the moisture, and see if that helps. Good way to get away from regular fries and eat more vegetables! I did add cajun seasoning, which made them taste like cajun steak fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pearl River, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These taste better to me than sweet potato fries. I bought a 1/2 squash already peeled and seeded, which makes this much quicker. Once cut up, I spread them on a baking sheet and added garlic powder, cumin and crushed red pepper. I baked at 425 for 40 minutes, flipping once. I overcooked them or possibly cut too thin. These are going to be my new go to when I want french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Needed longer to cook and stayed soft, not crispy. Tasty but needed a little more seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great flavor! I didn't give 5 stars b/c it takes forever to prepare the squash and then all the flipping while baking- high maintenance cooking. They seem to take longer than the stated 20 minutes and some pieces start to burn before other are even close to being done. I did 2 batches- one with salt, cinnamon, a little nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice- the other batch I used cajun seasoning. Both were wonderful! I put them in a ziploc with a little olive and the seasoning. I wouldn't expect crispy fries but they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These turned out more soggy than I thought they would. It was good eating vegetable instead of potato starch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States