Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very yummy. I shook them in a bag with olive oil like other reviewers suggested. I did put too much salt on them. I had a hard time getting them crispy, after they baked for almost an hour I gave up and turned the broiler on for a few minutes. We had them for breakfast. I'll try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I really liked these. I peeled the squash easily with a potato peeler and then sliced it into sticks. I placed them on a baking stone, sprayed them with Pam, and salted them. I cooked them 20 minutes and then turned them over and cooked another 10. Not crispy (but I wasn't expecting crispy since they aren't fried), but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I did what others suggested, I added olive oil. I also added kosher salt, pepper and paprika. They ended up being delicious. Only problem is that they're kind of mushy and I had to cook them for way longer than 20 minutes... and when I decided enough was enough (some were beginning to burn), they were still not very firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These were good, but soggy. Will make again once I can figure out how to keep them crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pritty1npink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I tossed them in a bit of olive oil and salt before baking. They were so good my kids didn't realize they weren't regular ole fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Awesome!! After adding olive oil I covered it with a cajun seasoning. SO SO GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I used the suggestions of some of the other reviewers. I cut into fairly small slices (smaller than in the picture), set out for 5 min., seasoned with salt and pepper, and pressed with paper towel. I brushed some olive oil on before baking on broiler. Halfway through the 30 min. time I turned the pieces and brushed olive oil on that side. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
These were full of flavor and easy to make. Like others, mine came out mushy, not crisp. No matter, they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
these are yummy! i have gotten our family hooked on these (even an extremely picky 5 yr old who wont touch veggies!!). To make them less soggy: cut the squash, salt it, then let it sit for like 5 mins, then pat dry with a paper towel. Salt/season again then cook on broiler pan. They must be cooked at least 40 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
flavor was very good. But that was all. Maybe I cut them to thin. They mushed all up. We just ate the mushed up "fries". Don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States