Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Meh-mushy, but I could see how they would taste good with a different texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were much better than sweet potato fries. I could eat this again. I only gave it a 3 star, because they were soft on the inside. I will try to make again, and try the idea of salting and then placing on towel to draw out the moisture, and see if that helps. Good way to get away from regular fries and eat more vegetables! I did add cajun seasoning, which made them taste like cajun steak fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Pearl River, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
So yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeybee375

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These taste better to me than sweet potato fries. I bought a 1/2 squash already peeled and seeded, which makes this much quicker. Once cut up, I spread them on a baking sheet and added garlic powder, cumin and crushed red pepper. I baked at 425 for 40 minutes, flipping once. I overcooked them or possibly cut too thin. These are going to be my new go to when I want french fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Needed longer to cook and stayed soft, not crispy. Tasty but needed a little more seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great flavor! I didn't give 5 stars b/c it takes forever to prepare the squash and then all the flipping while baking- high maintenance cooking. They seem to take longer than the stated 20 minutes and some pieces start to burn before other are even close to being done. I did 2 batches- one with salt, cinnamon, a little nutmeg and pumpkin pie spice- the other batch I used cajun seasoning. Both were wonderful! I put them in a ziploc with a little olive and the seasoning. I wouldn't expect crispy fries but they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These turned out more soggy than I thought they would. It was good eating vegetable instead of potato starch though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirona

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
These fries were so good! First time I had tried butternut squash by itself and this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Deeelicous! Cutting up the butternut squash was a major chore (perhaps I needed a sharper knife...), but it was sooo worth it. I sprayed mine with Pam and ate them with ketchup (although they really didn't need it). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
What a fantastic way to get away from french fries. It is a great substitute and healthy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States