Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The flavor was great, however the end result was very unlike a fry. No crispness or crunch. I tossed in olive oil and salt, then baked for 35 minutes total. Still not crispy like I wanted them to be. Would be a great component in another dish but not a stand-alone side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
If you want them crunchier, cut them thinner. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar as other comments suggested, but I found them to be too sweet. I even made a batch without the brown sugar, but they were still too sweet. I probably wont make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia Gilbertson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love them!! If you like sweet potato fries, these are a great substitute. I cut them thinner with a crinkle cutter and spray with cooking oil. We use garlic salt after they are done cooking. They are not crispy but I find if you cut them thinner they aren't as mushy. FYI - if you are on Weight Watchers, these are no points if you use the cooking spray!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
My husband and I liked these, but our children did not. I cooked them for 30 min then turned off the oven and left them in there for a while longer, but they were always a little mushy, even when the edges were crispy. I think that's just the nature of the squash (vs. potato). But the flavor was very good. I did toss them with olive oil first so they wouldn't stick to the pan (although they still stuck a little). thanks for the simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Surprisingly tasty (when seasoned with olive oil, cinnamon, a pinch of nutmeg, and garlic salt), but very mushy. I even put the baking sheet in the oven while it was preheating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
very good did broil at the end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
easy to make. Healthy snack option. I would make again. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Took over an hour to make, although preparing the fries was quite easy. I think the process might be made a lot easier for a beginner like me if cooked directly in the oil like french fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Yum!! So good. I spaced mine out onto 2 sheets so they had room to brown- turned out great! 30 min. cooking time with a little olive oil and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My 5 year old couldn't get enough of these... An excellent alternative to traditional french fries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States