Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2015
Yummy! This is definitively something I will make again. I followed the suggestions in the comments of brushing with olive oil first then baking and then I sprinkled with some salt afterwards. I used a crookneck squash instead of butternut because that's the variety I have growing in my garden. I am sure any variety of squash would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeecheeH
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Nothing like sweet potato fries. Quite flavorless. Will NOT be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
Very yummy! I almost ate the whole squash! The only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 stars is due to texture and the amount of time this takes. I couldn't get mine crispy enough but I think if I had a double broiler that maybe would have solved the problem. I sprinkled my "fries" with salt and let the moisture sweat out onto napkins before baking. All in all I don't think I would make this again unless I am really craving it. I think I will simply roast them. Seems easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buns N the Oven

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
so simple but so incredibly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Lansing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I read a lot about how some people's fries turned out mushy. I got mine to be perfectly crispy using the following: I cut the squash into strips a night before. I placed them on a few paper towels and salted them to suck out the moisture. I put the baking sheet in the oven while it was preheating. Using a hot pan can help the fries crisp. I sprayed the strips with cooking spray, not olive oil. I baked for 5-10 min at 425 and then broiled at 500 for ~20 minutes, occasionally flipping. Hope this can help someone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have made these for years. I toss the fries in oil in a zip lock bag, and add salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Or, sometimes I'll toss them in oil and cinnamon, nutmeg and a little ginger. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was a good basic recipe for fries. I salted before fries before hand on a paper towel to expell some of the water so fries would not be soggy. Let them rest about 10 min. Then I used some olive oil in the bottom of my baking dish and broiled them turning a few times for about 15-20 min and they were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious! Try to slice them uniformly, and a little thicker, or else they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I made up a pan of these and tried a few different falvors, some with just salt, some with a few herbs sprinkled on, some with onion/garlic salt but like some others have stated they were not like fries at all. They browned on the edges and eventually started to burn but never went crisp. And the thickness wasn't an issue because I used a veggies slicer meant for making thin potato chips. If I were to try it again maybe I'd lower the heat and cook for longer so they have more of a chance to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've tried making butternut squash fries several times and this is the closest they've come to being actual fries. First I tossed them with olive oil and a generous amount of cinnamon. I did NOT salt them beforehand because I did not want to draw out any additional moisture. I salted them immediately after taking them out of the oven instead. I sliced them thinly and kept a close eye on them. As soon as they were nicely browned on one side, then flipped them and waited for them to brown on the other side as well. But be careful, there is a pretty short time between "nicely browned" and burned so don't wait too long. But don't flip prematurely either, because they will be soggy. All in all, some were burnt and some were soggy, but most were perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States