Butternut Squash Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I read a lot about how some people's fries turned out mushy. I got mine to be perfectly crispy using the following: I cut the squash into strips a night before. I placed them on a few paper towels and salted them to suck out the moisture. I put the baking sheet in the oven while it was preheating. Using a hot pan can help the fries crisp. I sprayed the strips with cooking spray, not olive oil. I baked for 5-10 min at 425 and then broiled at 500 for ~20 minutes, occasionally flipping. Hope this can help someone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I have made these for years. I toss the fries in oil in a zip lock bag, and add salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. Or, sometimes I'll toss them in oil and cinnamon, nutmeg and a little ginger. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was a good basic recipe for fries. I salted before fries before hand on a paper towel to expell some of the water so fries would not be soggy. Let them rest about 10 min. Then I used some olive oil in the bottom of my baking dish and broiled them turning a few times for about 15-20 min and they were very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Delicious! Try to slice them uniformly, and a little thicker, or else they will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I made up a pan of these and tried a few different falvors, some with just salt, some with a few herbs sprinkled on, some with onion/garlic salt but like some others have stated they were not like fries at all. They browned on the edges and eventually started to burn but never went crisp. And the thickness wasn't an issue because I used a veggies slicer meant for making thin potato chips. If I were to try it again maybe I'd lower the heat and cook for longer so they have more of a chance to dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I've tried making butternut squash fries several times and this is the closest they've come to being actual fries. First I tossed them with olive oil and a generous amount of cinnamon. I did NOT salt them beforehand because I did not want to draw out any additional moisture. I salted them immediately after taking them out of the oven instead. I sliced them thinly and kept a close eye on them. As soon as they were nicely browned on one side, then flipped them and waited for them to brown on the other side as well. But be careful, there is a pretty short time between "nicely browned" and burned so don't wait too long. But don't flip prematurely either, because they will be soggy. All in all, some were burnt and some were soggy, but most were perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neen718

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just could not get them to crisp. Even with an hour of cooking, all I had was burnt edges and soggy centers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
simple and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Excellent. At 20 minutes, these were cooked but very soft; at 45 minutes they were as crisp as oven-baked sweet potato fries. We added some pumpkin pie spice and kosher salt, and olive-oiled them as reported by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I made this recipe and it was a hit. The only thing I did different was at the end of baking, I broiled them to add an extra crisp. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabitri Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States