Butternut Squash Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I changed a few things so I could use what I had in the fridge. I used red onion, a little extra garlic and soft Mediterranean herb goat cheese. I made tacos instead of enchiladas since I didn't have enchilada sauce or cotija cheese or cilantro. I used fat free Greek strained yogurt instead of sour cream. It has a lot of protein in it and a great thick texture. I heated the tortillas on a dry hot pan, spread the goat cheese on it, added the squash mixture and a dollop of Greek yogurt. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
What a nice change from the usual enchilada! I made 2 minor changes, I subbed parmesan for the cotija and I omitted the cilantro garnish. This was a light but filling recipe that I expect to use often. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Excellent recipe! Just added some adobo seasoning to the squash and spinach mixture. Came out great. Will definitely be making this regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Excellent! I know the restaurant, and it IS just like their version. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is a delicious combination of flavors. The goat cheese and butternut squash complement each other beautifully. Stacked enchiladas are typical of New Mexican style, except the tortillas are lightly fried or warmed in a skillet rather than baked, and then dipped in red chile sauce (not enchilada sauce) before being assembled. I made mine this way, and they came out great. Next time, I'll add more spinach and goat cheese. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Granted, I didn't have a lot of the ingredients (tomatoes, enchilada sauce, cliantro), but I have to say this was NOT very good. It was weird more than anything. And I couldn't even eat it with the goat cheese on it. I don't think I will ever want to make this again. I couldn't believe something came up when I was searching for ingredients with goat cheese and squash. So I thought it might be worth a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Designer Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
A beautiful melding of flavors and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonwoman
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was amazing! Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I thought these were pretty good. We used wheat tortillas instead of corn (heated in the preheated oven for 30 seconds each), and subbed one fresh roma tomato for sundried tomatoes because they were so expensive. We also subbed shredded Mozzarella cheese for cojita. I also added a bit of curry powder and dried cilantro to the onion while sauteing. We all liked these but thought it could use more of a kick (like more curry powder or red pepper flakes), and thought it was important to use fresh cilantro and not replace with the dried spice like we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Being mexican, I seriously had my doubts about this recipe. What came out was simply amazing! I will be sure to serve this at the potlucks coming up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States