Butternut Squash Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I was skeptical when I read the recipe but I had tons of squash I needed to use. THIS WAS SOOOOOOOOOOO good. I cannot even tell you how good this is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made a vegan version of these by omitting the cheese and using Tofutti sour cream. They were excellent! My only problem -- I followed the directions with the tortillas, but my corn tortillas were very tough and chewy. Any advice on how to make them more crispy? Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORtrillium

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made this for my vegetarian son between college classes and his jobs. He loved it. Will be making again soon for the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe sounded like a good idea, but after making it I have to say it was surprisingly delicious. Unfortunately the local grocer didn't have butternut squash in stock so I used a whole organic acorn squash (it was smaller than conventionally raised). The amount of garlic and onion seemed small so I minced 1 additional clove of garlic and probably another 1/4 c of onion. I also substituted grated vegan "monterey jack" cheese for the goat cheese. Usually I don't purchase or eat dairy products but I think the cotija cheese is essential for it's salty flavor- I probably put on closer to 1/2 a cup over the top. I rolled the enchiladas and put them in a baking dish instead of baking and layering the tortillas (ended up using 7 large corn tortillas). I may have used extra enchilada sauce- I just poured it over the top until everything was covered. I baked them at 350F instead of 400F for about 20 minutes, and they came out perfect. My boyfriend said he wouldn't have noticed that they didn't have meat if he didn't know because they just tasted like delicious enchiladas. Our meat-eating roommates tasted and enjoyed it as well. If you enjoy spicy foods you may want to add some hot sauce or diced jalapenos to the squash mixture, but although we usually like our food spicy the lack of capsicum didn't result in a bland dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
These are excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Great recipe~ I replaced the butternut squash with spaghetti squash and it was still fantastic! I also used alot less cheese for a healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaMarie-HOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dhourihan1
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe was simple to make and was very good. The only step I skipped was baking the tortillas. I doubled the recipe which drove the cost of the dish to high for my budget so the next time I prepare I will use different Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dhourihan1
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I did change a few things. First, I used 3.5 cups of spinache and second, I substituted feta because I didn't have goat cheese or cotija cheese. I sprinkled a little bit of feta inside before I baked them. I also made my own enchilada sauce because I was out of that too! I recommend using chopped itallian tomatoes, 2 tsp of cummin, onion powder, garlis salt and peper. Season to taste. Roll your enchilladas in a small rectangular baking pan, pour the enchilada sauce over the top and sprinkle with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
What a great recipe. I was trying to cut the calories a bit so I used Lavash instead of the tortilla. I also added mushrooms to the onion/garlic and I did not use the enchilada sauce. After I baked it I put shredded lettuce, tomato and onion on the top. I put extra feta cheese and chunky hot sauce on the table for those who wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Not very impressed. BLAND to say the least. Not enough texture, couldn't taste the sun dried tomatoes at all and cheeses added nothing. IF I made this again I would add more garlic, a couple peppers(jalepeno) and some other spices. Rated this a three only for the healthy factor but the time involved was not worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States