Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
Be careful with this recipe. It is very good and makes a beautiful presentation. However, the flavor is very rich...a small serving will be plenty. Would be great for Thanksgiving or some other special occassion. Not something you would "whip-up" on a school night. It's a keeper for when we have guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was a big hit at a community pot luck. I increased the squash to 5 cups and reduced the white sugar. It was delicious and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made this dish for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. It tasted fantastic and wasn't very hard to make at all. Even my kids ate it. It was just fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDI149

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
WHAT A FABULOUS DISH!!!! You know what I did? I used FROZEN butternut squash. Two small bags. WOO HOO was this easy, and MY MOTHER loved it!!!! She brought the leftovers home. My children didn't like it, but they dont like anything except mcdonalds!!! ;o( (I am exagerating)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I reduced the sugar as recommended to 1/3 cup. Came out great! (I reduced it to 1/4 cup the first time, but it didn't seem quite sweet enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
Excellent taste, but I would use 1/4 amount of suger and omit juice of pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This was really tasty! We get an abundance of squash from a farm share and end up cooking, pureeing and freezing tons of squash. Usually I just add some butter or margarine and a little cinnamon. This recipe was a great change! I omitted the nuts due to food allergies and left out the nutmeg since I don't like it. I also omitted the white sugar (I didn't increase the brown, just left it as is), and it was plenty sweet. The combination of the squash, pineapple, brown sugar and cinnamon was delicious! I'll definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Sooooo delicious!! I halved the sugar like some suggested and this was incredible. It is a side dish and dessert all in one. Will definatley be serving this one at holiday time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Try using different type squashes, even mashed yams. I've even baked this with some sliced apples added to the squash. A keeper, but cut back on the sugar or your guests will think it's dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
Whoa, this casserole is absolutely fantastic. It was a really big hit at Thanksgiving dinner. The adults loved it and the kids couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States