Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I reduced the sugar as recommended to 1/3 cup. Came out great! (I reduced it to 1/4 cup the first time, but it didn't seem quite sweet enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Lovely. For the people at the table who like butternut squash, thought this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was excellent!! I have never cooked butternut before so I peeled it, cut it in chunks, covered with water and cooked for one half hour. Followed the recipe except cut down on the sugare-then cooked it for 30 minutes at 400-will definitely be making this one again-Thanks for sharing, Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This is delicious, and very sweet. It's a hit with my family every Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was a big hit at a community pot luck. I increased the squash to 5 cups and reduced the white sugar. It was delicious and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
Sooooo delicious!! I halved the sugar like some suggested and this was incredible. It is a side dish and dessert all in one. Will definatley be serving this one at holiday time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was very easy to make and my kids loved it. My husband even liked it (he hates pumpkin), perhaps because of the pineapple. I had to add extra pineapple for my kids. Texture a bit stringy, I may puree next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurora Mandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
I make a few changes to the recipe to decrease the sugar and fat content. I wasn't sure about the 3 cups of cooked squash, but I used one whole butternut squash and the can of pineapple as suggested. I then decreased the sugars to 1/8 of a cup of each, substituting each of the sugars with Splenda for baking (brown and white). I eliminated the butter completely and used pecans in lieu of the walnuts. It was excellent and my family loved it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I love this! I had no choice but to substitute canned yams for half of the squash amount because my new dog, who can reach the counters, scarfed down half my roasted squash when I wasn't looking :). Worked just fine with the yams fillin' in, maybe added another dimension in taste. The pineapple was the key to this for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Very tasty; but I only added 1/4 cup sugar altogether, and about 2T margarine; even at that it bordered on too sweet. I guess it depends on if you want a dessert or a side dish. Don't omit the pineapple - that makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States