Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I really liked this butternut squash recipe. I had a huge butternut squash to use so I baked it in the oven first. I scooped it out of its skin and added all the ingredients to my mixer. I omitted the white sugar, used butter instead of margarine and put roasted pecans on the top before baking. Otherwise I didn’t change a thing. It was very tasty and I am giving it as a gift to a friend who has been hurt and can’t cook. I am very pleased and proud to give this one away. Thank you Carolyn for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
TOOO SWEET - definitely cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Made this for thanksgiving and everyone liked it...even got my husband to eat as a leftover...this is nearly unheard of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
A wonderful dish. I used the pecans and only the brown sugar. Followed the rest the way is was suggested. I wasn't wild about the brown color (I love the bright orange color of squash). Took it to a pot luck where some people thought it was a pecan pie and others were not sure but they really liked it. So did I and my husband. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bertha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carthage, New York, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My family loved this recipe, and my teenage daughter who is extremely fussy ate seconds!! We did cut back on the sugar and will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Thought I would try something new with the butternut. Well I have just looked back to see what everyone else thought and was really surprised. We had it last night..following recipe exactly except decreasing the sugar amount a bit. Being from the south, I thought we would enjoy it...but NO way will I waste my other stuff again to make it. Truely sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Sorry, but I just didn't really care for this. I guess I didn't get enough of a flavor boost to warrant all that sugar. I'll just roast it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This recipe is delicious. I followed the recipe as written and was very satisfied with the results. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Easy to make ahead of time. Has been a new holiday favorite (Thanksgiving and Christmas) plus has gotten more people to try butternut squash. My husband's new favorite veggie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This has quickly become a family favorite. Everyone raves about this casserole! And I have even made it in the crock pot--which makes it great for holidays when the oven is full!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States