Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, and what a hit it was. I microwaved the squash for 5 min, and it was very easy to peel and cut. After boiling the squash for 15 min, I used a hand mixer to mash it. I modified the ingredients and mounts, as I didn't want a sweet vegetable. I omitted the white sugar, but added 1/3 cup of brown sugar. I drained the can of pineapple, and put the juice aside, as i didn't use it. I used less the amounts called for when adding the cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla.I omitted the nuts. I put it in the 2 qt casserole, and baked 40 min at 325. My family loved it, and I plan on making it for Christmas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Tasty and a great meal for cooler nights
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great recipe! I did follow others' suggestions and drain the pineapple, as well as omit the white sugar. It was plenty sweet enough with just the brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I agree with others and only used 1/8c of sugars and same with butter instead of margerine. I omitted the pineapple completely and decreased all other spices by 1/2 and it was still sweet and tasty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Too much cinnamon or nutmeg. Rough texture. Omitted white sugar so it wasn't so sweet. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My family LOVED this recipe! I have lost about 60 pounds by following a dietician's plan. To stick with the lifestyle changes I have made, I used some minor adjustments to make it healthier. I used natural applesauce instead of the butter, and omitted the white sugar. I reduced the packed brown sugar to 1/3 cup. With the pineapple and applesauce, we thought that the recipe had plenty of sweetness, but definitely less sugar and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I brought this to a large outdoor Thanksgiving party - it was gone by the time I made it around the serving table. The little bit I was able to scrape up from the bottom of the pan was amazing....and everyone who tried it raved about it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarzana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
My favorite squash casserole and very easy to prepare. Minor changes: I only used the 1/2 cup brown sugar, not the white. I also drained the pineapple. And I always use sweet butter instead of margarine. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Skipped the White sugar as everyone called for. Definitely sweet enough without it!! My 3 year old could not get enough of it!!! Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe was very good. I omitted the sugars and just used the pineapple to sweeten it. Having it for breakfast right now. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States