Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I like this recipie, but made a few changes as suggested by others... Instead of microwaving and then boiling, I cut in half, scooped out seeds and baked in oven halved side down until soft. Blended in a blender to make smooth puree. Used a 1/2 C Splenda, added 1tsp Cinnamon and 1/2tsp Nutmeg. For a topping I used 1/4C brown sugar, 1/8C butter and 2C Honey Bunches of Oats cereal (as suggested by another to use cornflakes, I used what I had on hand and loved the result). Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
323 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricky835

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
I love butternut squash and this is a great recipe to get started with. I've made this recipe many times and have made many modifications. First of all, I like to roast the squash rather than boiling it. I just cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, and roast it at 375 for 45 min-1 hour. It is easier to just scoop out the cooked sqaush than peel the skin off the little chunks. This does take longer, but in my opinion, it is much easier. I also add cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger which adds a nice flavor. The last thing that I change is that instead of the suggested topping, I use chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I am a newlywed and havne't done much cooking. I have prepared this for Thanksgiving ahead of time. I have never cooked butternut squash before so I didn't know that after you cook the squash that you are supposed to scoop the inside out of the "rind". I found that out after I mashed it up and it was still hard. I spent a good hour trying to pick the rind out of the mashed squash. It would be helpful if the reicpe mentioned that step for new cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Big success! This is the first time I've ever cooked any kind of squash. I took other reviewers advice and roasted it cut in half, meat side down. The skin peeled right off. I made the recipe "as is" with the exception of adding a little cinnamon, ginger, and oops, I had it out, but I forgot to add the brown sugar to the topping. Didn't matter though, Everyone raved over it! I read the reviews and I'm so glad I didn't cut back on the sugar. I don't think I would have liked it so much without the full amount of sugar. It's like a pumpkin type of dessert or a Thanksgiving side dish but I served it on a normal weeknight and it was excellent! I definitely suggest that you try the recipe before cutting back unless you need to watch your sugar intake or for personal preferences. Thanks for a delicious recipe! UPDATE- I used the brown sugar in the topping this time and it was way too sweet. I'll make it again w/o the brown sugar in the topping like the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
With a few tweaks, this was great! I split the butternut squash in two, scooped out the seeds, rubbed 1 tablespoon of butter on the insides and placed it cut side down on a cookie sheet. I baked it at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes until it easily pierced with a knife. Then I scooped out the orange flesh (toss the skin) and mashed it with 1 1/2 cups of skim milk. I mixed it together with only 3 tablespoons of butter and all the other ingredients ( I added the beaten eggs last so they wouldn't cook in the mixing bowl.) I skipped the topping (it was yummy enough already).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
A splicing of many of the review-based mods caused this first attempt to use butternut squash a huge success. I cut in half, scooped out seeds and baked in oven halved side down at 375 for 45 min-1 hour. Used a 1/2 C sugar, added 1tsp Cinnamon and 1/2tsp Nutmeg. Used an 8x8 pan. For a topping I used 1/4C brown sugar, 1/8C butter and 2C Honey Bunches of Oats cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I have already made it twice in the last 48 hours because my husband and I are eating it all! My husband was a professional chef and he proclaimed it fabulous. He was really impressed. It tastes even better cold. I just used brown sugar and butter for the topping and it carmalizes and is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This recipe is one of my family's favorites!!! I also add 1 cup chopped pecans to the topping. I was thrilled to find that this year Costco sells butternut squash (already removed from the rind and cubed) in their produce dept. This cuts the prep time way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This recipe is good, but a bit on the sweet side for me. The second time I made it I cut the sugar in half and used orange extract instead of vanilla...what an interesting flavorful dish THAT was! Highly recommend the orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I made this recipe with 3/4 cup white sugar and around 1.25-1.33 cup milk per suggestions on the site. Used about 2/3 of a 12 ounce box of Nilla wafers and the topping was as thick as the souffle. This was very sweet, the topping overpowered the squash souffle. Even the souffle without the topping was very sweet. I think maybe making it in a 8X8 pan instead of 9X13 would make the souffle a little thicker and more appealing (in the 9X13 pan, the souffle was pretty thin). That being said, I think, with a little tweaking, this could really be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States