Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I really enjoyed this. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This dish is like a little piece of heaven. We dont really have dessert during the holidays because everyone wants this instead. people will come back for thirds for sure!! I started using this recipe a few years ago. I am thankful i came across it. I had to search and search after my friend made something similar and refused to share her secret! I have made some changes to it like adding extra flour, extra vanilla, and extra vanilla wafers. I acrually crush more wafers really fine and add them into the squash mix. And i load it/layer it with extra wafer topping. Anyways it is a huge hit with my family and friends. Time consuming but the end result makes it worth while for sure! I even have some friends who pay me during the holidays to make large batches of it for their family dinners. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We usually do a candied sweet potato casserole at Christmas but I happened to have a butternut squash handy, so I made this recipe. Everyone liked that it was something different, not quite as sweet as the sweet potato... the contrast of the sugar and the squash was really nice. I didn't have vanilla wafers so I ground up some Christmas cookies. :) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
huge hit with my family! A new holiday fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was easy to make, and everyone loved it. It was a great addition to our Thanksgiving dinner. Putting it in the microwave for about 4 to 5 minutes first made it much easier to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Hubby says this is like pie filling and kids think we're having dessert for dinner! Need I say more? I used 1/2 C sugar, added 1tsp Cinnamon and 1/2tsp Nutmeg for less sweetness, yet still sweet. For the topping, I used what cereal we had on hand: 1 1/2C Cheerios and Raisin Bran (w/o raisins) mixed with 1/4C brown sugar & 1/8C butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
So delicious! I was skeptical to try this at first - this was also my first time baking with squash. It tastes very similar to sweet potato. I followed the recipe exactly & it came out even better than expected. This is definitely more of a dessert dish, it is very sweet. The only thing I would do differently next time is try to do layers. A layer of squash on bottom, middle layer of brown sugar/cookie mix, another layer of squash & then a top layer of sugar/cookie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I also made a few changes to this. I roasted the squash then scooped it out and put it in the blender with some condensed milk to make it mushy. I only used two egg and cocount flour to make it gluten free. I also added cinnamon to the recipe and didn't put a topping on it. My family loved it they didn't even know it was squash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Agree with all the others... less sugar needed. I did 3/4 c white but should have done 1/2. also added 2 tsp cinnamon (only needed 1 likely) and 1 tsp nutmeg. Didn't have any ginger but see how that would have been nice. Topping turned out great: did 1/2 c brown sugar, 5 tbsp butter melted, 5 large graham crackers crumbled, ~1/3 c oats, ~1/3 c crushed pecan halves. Didn't even need the full final 15 min cooking (watch it closely was done at around 8 min). If you use whole milk watch the cooking time for the first 45 because it will likely be less. Definately more dessert like but we ate it as a side along with some simple chicken so it wasn't too overpowering to the overall meal. Not sure I'll make it again... if I want something this sweet I'll just do sweet potatoes. Was nice something different tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
this is so simple to make. and so very good . Everyone who says they don't like squash , will really like this . It is also easy to change it up abit to your own taste or to just make it a little different. Don't tell anyone what it is until after they have a taste . I have never had a complant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wavedancer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States