Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Tried this on 2/24/12. Did make some modifications but only for convenience. Don't think it affected the results. Following another reviewer's (Tricky835) lead, I cut the squash in half, removed the seeds and baked it (cut side down) until it was soft. Used a potato masher instead of a blender and everything came out just great! Also, I added the cinnamon, nutmeg to the cooked squash. THE surprise of the event was the scrumptiousness of the topping. This will become a regular in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Cain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
I really enjoyed this. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This dish is like a little piece of heaven. We dont really have dessert during the holidays because everyone wants this instead. people will come back for thirds for sure!! I started using this recipe a few years ago. I am thankful i came across it. I had to search and search after my friend made something similar and refused to share her secret! I have made some changes to it like adding extra flour, extra vanilla, and extra vanilla wafers. I acrually crush more wafers really fine and add them into the squash mix. And i load it/layer it with extra wafer topping. Anyways it is a huge hit with my family and friends. Time consuming but the end result makes it worth while for sure! I even have some friends who pay me during the holidays to make large batches of it for their family dinners. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nai

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
We usually do a candied sweet potato casserole at Christmas but I happened to have a butternut squash handy, so I made this recipe. Everyone liked that it was something different, not quite as sweet as the sweet potato... the contrast of the sugar and the squash was really nice. I didn't have vanilla wafers so I ground up some Christmas cookies. :) This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
huge hit with my family! A new holiday fab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was easy to make, and everyone loved it. It was a great addition to our Thanksgiving dinner. Putting it in the microwave for about 4 to 5 minutes first made it much easier to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Hubby says this is like pie filling and kids think we're having dessert for dinner! Need I say more? I used 1/2 C sugar, added 1tsp Cinnamon and 1/2tsp Nutmeg for less sweetness, yet still sweet. For the topping, I used what cereal we had on hand: 1 1/2C Cheerios and Raisin Bran (w/o raisins) mixed with 1/4C brown sugar & 1/8C butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
So delicious! I was skeptical to try this at first - this was also my first time baking with squash. It tastes very similar to sweet potato. I followed the recipe exactly & it came out even better than expected. This is definitely more of a dessert dish, it is very sweet. The only thing I would do differently next time is try to do layers. A layer of squash on bottom, middle layer of brown sugar/cookie mix, another layer of squash & then a top layer of sugar/cookie mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I also made a few changes to this. I roasted the squash then scooped it out and put it in the blender with some condensed milk to make it mushy. I only used two egg and cocount flour to make it gluten free. I also added cinnamon to the recipe and didn't put a topping on it. My family loved it they didn't even know it was squash. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Agree with all the others... less sugar needed. I did 3/4 c white but should have done 1/2. also added 2 tsp cinnamon (only needed 1 likely) and 1 tsp nutmeg. Didn't have any ginger but see how that would have been nice. Topping turned out great: did 1/2 c brown sugar, 5 tbsp butter melted, 5 large graham crackers crumbled, ~1/3 c oats, ~1/3 c crushed pecan halves. Didn't even need the full final 15 min cooking (watch it closely was done at around 8 min). If you use whole milk watch the cooking time for the first 45 because it will likely be less. Definately more dessert like but we ate it as a side along with some simple chicken so it wasn't too overpowering to the overall meal. Not sure I'll make it again... if I want something this sweet I'll just do sweet potatoes. Was nice something different tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States