Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I was looking for an alternative to my regular roasted butternut squash and I was very pleased by this alternative. I also cut the sugar down to 1/3 of a cup to avoid the added calories and avoid a dessert taste, since I was serving it with a savory chicken recipe. I didn't have the vanilla wafers, so I substituted Honey Bunches of oats and since they are fairly sweet, cut the brown sugar to 1/3 cup as well. The vote was a unanimous Delicious!!I'm thinking of making this in place of my regular Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I hope people know enough to skin the squash as it was not mentioned in the recipe. I agree the topping would be too sweet. I would sub white sugar for brown and add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This casserole was fantastic with the honey bunches of oats/butter/brown sugar topping just because it sounded like a better finish. I will be making this at the autumn family gathering I will be planning sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Thanks to several other reviews, I also cut the sugar (2/3 cup) and added cinnamon and nutmeg. Also roasted the squash beforehand instead of boiling. Used a graham cracker crumb/brown sugar/margarine mix for the topping and it turned out delicious! Next time will try reducing the milk slightly...which will probably be very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Can't believe I'd never tried butternut squash before (ever!) but they were half price in the supermarket, and I was intrigued. This was the RIGHT recipe to test my curiosity! YUM YUM YUM! I didn't add the topping (had no wafers or anything similar) but it was sweet enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was like pumpkin pie! So good and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
yum yum yum, used butter instead of margarine. My son thinks it is desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this as described except baked the squash first, as others suggested. My family thought it was delicious, but what wouldn't be with this much butter and sugar in it? The topping could have been less sweet. The squash itself wasn't too sweet...it had a custard taste, not much else...not pumpkin or sweet potato-like, as I would have thought. I would make this again, but next time I'll try reducing some of the sugar or just expect it to be dessert rather than a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Excellent. My husband was afraid to try it, but one taste and he was going back for seconds. I made one change, instead of this topping I used one from another recipe. I put new topping on and baked at 350 degree for about 45 - 50 minutes or until firm. Topping - 1/2 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 cup coconut, 1 cup toasted almond slivers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Ohl
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Have made this multiple times and is now a favorite with my family and friends. I too made a few changes - butter instead of margarine, baked instead of boiled squash and Ritz crackers for topping (gives a nice salty/sweet flavor)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States