Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Three Pack
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I've made this a few times, without the topping and we absolutely love it. This evening I had some old animal crackers I was going to throw out so I used those instead of nilla wafers for the topping and it was great. We still prefer it without the topping, but it was a successful experiment. I added a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. It's a great way to sneak squash into my husband's diet. I love squash, but he's selective about his veggies. I think this would be an amazing Thanksgiving side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Three Pack

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I had to modify this to make it gluten-free by using GF flour and omitting the cookies on top. I used a combo of crushed GF pretzels with a bit of flour mixed in instead of the cookies. I also reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. Next time I will simply do nut topping like I put on sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Four stars as written. Five stars with these changes: Decrease sugar to 3/4 cup, use 1 quart (4 c.) of canned squash, and skip the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I think this was more like a dessert, not a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made it with no changes. My husband said it was better than sweet potato casserole. My picky children ate it everyday as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My step children were not exposed to much outside of boxed food before they met me; since then they love trying new things I make and absolutely LOVED this recipe!!! 8 thumbs up from the 4 of them! And 4 more from my husband and myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
After reading other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1/3c. in the squash and the topping but still way too sweet. I used ritz crackers in the topping. The texture was great but next time I will try without the sugar in the topping. I did add 1/4 tsp ginger and cinammon, but couldn't really taste them through the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added nutmeg and cinnamon and baked it in an 8x8 dish. For some reason 425 for 45 minutes was either way too high of a temp or too long of a cooking time...the inside of the casserole itself still tastes amazing but the top and bottom/sides were burnt!!!! Next time I make this I'll reduce the temp and/or cooking time. I also made the topping with pecans instead of vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I have made it many times. It's a holiday favorite!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Displaying results 11-20 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States