Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I baked my squash first, the "skin' peeled right off and the squash carmelized on the baking sheet, bringing out the natural sweetness. Instead of milk I used a half cup of orange juice and cut the sugar to a quarter cup, then blended very well before adding the rest of the ingredients. For the topping I used oat flake cereal, crushed almonds and dried cranberries, using only half the brown sugar called for. Still very sweet, so I may cut down on the sugars even further this weekend for the family holiday get together. It is a wonderful pot luck dish as it is delicious piping hot, yet for the late arriving guests it's still tasty even though it has cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I did not enjoy this at all--I thought it was way too sweet (much more like a dessert than a side dish), and I didn't think the squash taste blended well with the other, more custard-like flavors of the rest of the ingredients. I might make this again, omitting the topping, sugar and vanilla and adding cheese or breadcrumbs instead for a savory casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The best dish at the party. Bake in 8x8 or it is only one inch deep. You must cut the sugar in half ,and only make half of the topping called for. Everyone wanted to know who brought the squash casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This recipe was very good and I got alot of compliments. Although I found it to be a little sweet. I used only 1/2 cup of the white sugar and 1/2 cup of the brown sugar and that was plenty. I also used only 1/4 cup butter for the topping. I used crushed Ritz crackers instead of the vanilla wafers. I will make this again, but may add even less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Oh my golly!! This was FABULOUS!!! I followed the directions on the butternut squash for cooking it, as well as previous reviewers. I sliced the squash length wise, placed cut side down on a jelly roll pan and baked for approx 45 min. (it does take longer, but it is easier, and I was able to prepare my other dish while this was baking so it worked out nicely) Anyway, after it baked, I flipped the squash over and let it set for a little bit so it would cool a bit, and then I removed the skin. (it was very easy) I kind of thought that the topping would taste fine with out the vanilla waffers so I just used brown sugar and some butter to make a crumble topping. It was so good, and it was the very first thing gone!!! I love when that happens!!! Everyone was raving about the butternut squash casserole and it is now a requirement that I make it every year from here on out! Fine with me, b/c ALL of the ingredients (besides the squash itself) are all ingredients that I have on hand at all times. So it's not only inexpensive, it's actually convenient! My husband was very against me making this b/c he wanted something he knew he'd love... He took one bite, got out of his seat to come and find me to tell me how AWESOME this was and he couldn't believe he liked it so much... so that says a lot right there! He loved it enough to stop eating to come and tell me that! Thank you so much for sharing... this is such a wonderful dish that is a little out of the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I've made this for an annual cub scout banquet, and people remember it and ask me if I've brought it again. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is the squash version of the sweet potato casserole our family always eats for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjoedo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I've made this many times and it is always a big hit. Lots of request for the recipe. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
great taste but really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I had a small (1 lb) butternut squash that I baked in the oven so it would have the most flavor. As the mixture looked kind of liquidy, I poured it into 7 sprayed custard cups, omitted the topping, and just sprinkled cinnamon on top. Used 1/2 cup sugar only. Baked at 350 degrees for 40 mins. They were delish! Tasted best warm. Just tried it again today using carrots (1 cup mashed) instead of butternut squash, sprinkling nutmeg on top instead of cinnamon - these were great, too! The first time I used the electric mixer, second time the blender and it was more smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States