Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Oh my sooooo sweet - even if I were serving it as a dessert! I even skipped the vanilla wafers. The texture was perfect, but no one could even eat more than two bites, even the kids. Next time I will cut the sugar in half and use double the squash, and try more of a strusel topping - maybe with nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This tastes almost exactly like pumpkin pie, if you modify it like others have suggested with the cinnamon and nutmeg. I halved the sugar in both the dish and the topping and it was still way too sweet for us, but if you have a sweet tooth, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My family loves this recipe!!! I cut both the white and brown sugar by half and used Ritz crackers instead of the vanilla wafers to help cut down the sweetness. I love the custard-like texture and it is great hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I would definitely add spices to this recipe. I thought it was bland. Maybe a little nutmeg or/and cinnomon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this sounded great and it was!! easy to make tased so good it could be used as a desert will use the topping for apple crist variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Thanks for this great recipe! I had two very small butternut squashes so I cut back a bit on some ingredients, used an 8x8 pan, and used chopped pecans mixed with brown sugar as a topping. Baked for only about 20 min. and it was set. Cooled it off and tasted it, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We like sweet potato casserole a lot and this is very similar. It does make a lot, so I may half it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very Delicious!!! I used only 1/2 cup brown sugar for the topping and it still tasted like I was eating dessert. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Quinton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was amazing! I didn't have nilla wafers, but I did have corn pops for the kids and I crushed those in the food processor and followed the directions as follows. It was like a dessert. EVERYONE loved this. I think I'll add this to my Thanksgiving menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wstbrkfan1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Used 1/2 C. brown sugar, 3/4 cup milk, and 2 eggs. Skipped the topping. Thanks for the starting point - would have been too sweet for me with a full cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nodaway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 374) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States