Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is simply marvelous! My family asks me to make it all the time! Can't wait to share it over the holidays! I've passed the recipe along to several friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Loved this! I used the mods with ginger and cinnamon and baked the squash before mashing - this made it so easy! The skin practically peeled itself off! Also used lemon animal crackers as the crushed topping...the citrus taste is a good compliment! Will be using this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was fantastic! I did two things differently: first, since I had previously peeled, cubed, and frozen my squash from the summertime, I thawed it out and roasted the cubes until soft. Second, I substituted pecans for the vanilla wafers in the topping. It was fabulous and I can't wait to make this at Thanksgiving! One word of warning - this recipe requires the oven temp at 425 and I made with a roast chicken which was cooked at 325. I should have made this ahead of time and then just warmed it up before serving, but I didn't think that far ahead, so I ended up cooking at 325 then raising the temp at the end (causing the chicken to spatter everywhere!). Just try to plan ahead and think about what else might be cooking in your oven at the same time. Despite that jockeying around in my oven, everything still came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My 3 year old asked for thirds. That is a 5-star in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Delicious with a few tweaks! As suggested by others, I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I also used 1 c evap milk, and 1/2 c regular milk. Topping was crushed vanilla cookies and butter. Would make a great Thanksgiving or fall dish, and is almost like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Superb in every way! More of a dessert casserole, much like pumpkin pie. I made a few changes which worked well. I agree with others' recommendation to roast the halves instead of cubing/boiling them. A lot of work cutting it up and removing all the rind before cooking. Also it takes much more than 1 butternut squash to produce 3 cups of squash meat. I needed 3 large squash. Also I used about 4 tbsp flour, helped set the mixture firmly when baking. Brown about 10-15 mins, watch carefully. Use extreme caution handling casserole when removing from oven! Mixture will be boiling like lava, it can seriously burn you if you are not very cautious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Oh my sooooo sweet - even if I were serving it as a dessert! I even skipped the vanilla wafers. The texture was perfect, but no one could even eat more than two bites, even the kids. Next time I will cut the sugar in half and use double the squash, and try more of a strusel topping - maybe with nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This tastes almost exactly like pumpkin pie, if you modify it like others have suggested with the cinnamon and nutmeg. I halved the sugar in both the dish and the topping and it was still way too sweet for us, but if you have a sweet tooth, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My family loves this recipe!!! I cut both the white and brown sugar by half and used Ritz crackers instead of the vanilla wafers to help cut down the sweetness. I love the custard-like texture and it is great hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I would definitely add spices to this recipe. I thought it was bland. Maybe a little nutmeg or/and cinnomon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States