Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It was good, but too sweet for a side dish. Next time, I may use less sugar, put the squash mixture in a deeper dish, and cut the amount of topping in half. Makes a great dessert "as-is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Wanted something a little different for Thanksgiving so took a chance and tried this. It was the biggest hit. Even my adult children, who never eat squash tried it and came back for seconds. Grandkids 4 & 1 1/2 loved it. This will definitely be be a dish I will cook over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
this is the best squash dish i've ever had! my six year old son can't get enough and he dislikes roasted squash even with brown sugar. i made it 'as is' and my whole family loved it. it is sweet but we didn't think it was overly so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Sorry, but nobody in my house liked it. I think I would have liked it without the topping as I found it became too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Kendall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Loved this recipe & so did my husband....I used the brown sugar & chopped pecan topping- awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is simply marvelous! My family asks me to make it all the time! Can't wait to share it over the holidays! I've passed the recipe along to several friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Loved this! I used the mods with ginger and cinnamon and baked the squash before mashing - this made it so easy! The skin practically peeled itself off! Also used lemon animal crackers as the crushed topping...the citrus taste is a good compliment! Will be using this for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was fantastic! I did two things differently: first, since I had previously peeled, cubed, and frozen my squash from the summertime, I thawed it out and roasted the cubes until soft. Second, I substituted pecans for the vanilla wafers in the topping. It was fabulous and I can't wait to make this at Thanksgiving! One word of warning - this recipe requires the oven temp at 425 and I made with a roast chicken which was cooked at 325. I should have made this ahead of time and then just warmed it up before serving, but I didn't think that far ahead, so I ended up cooking at 325 then raising the temp at the end (causing the chicken to spatter everywhere!). Just try to plan ahead and think about what else might be cooking in your oven at the same time. Despite that jockeying around in my oven, everything still came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickenlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My 3 year old asked for thirds. That is a 5-star in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Delicious with a few tweaks! As suggested by others, I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I also used 1 c evap milk, and 1/2 c regular milk. Topping was crushed vanilla cookies and butter. Would make a great Thanksgiving or fall dish, and is almost like dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States