Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this was a big hit!!! a great fall side dish/dessert.. i made some modifications as per the other reviews...i put the squash in the oven 45mins @350, used only half the sugar (white&brown) used butter, & replaced the vanilla wafers with graham crackers. it was delicious!!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M&MsMOMMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Tried this exactly as written. Here are the changes I will make next time: Leave the squash at 3 cups, and use 1/4 all the other ingredients. Bake the squash for 1 hour, scoop out and mash. I also added 1 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger. This is very good, but don't think it needs to be that sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I've made this twice now, once for myself and my roommate and once for my family, both times it was downright excellent both as a dessert and as a breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I have twin toddlers, and anything I can do to get veggies in them is a plus! Sugar and butter considerations are set aside in an effort to just get them to eat veggies. They both love this stuff, and I'm happy they're getting all the goodness of butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious recipe. I reduced the white and brown sugar, and for the topping used real butter, organic honey graham crackers, 3/4 cup of rolled oats, and added 1/2 cup of pecans. Next time I make this I'm going to reduce the sugar even more and maybe add a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Janzen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
this is awesome! It almost reminds me of a rice pudding consistancy. I made this for my husband, who doesn't like squash, and he really liked it. i will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is my favorite way to have butternut squash. My husband says this should be a dessert instead of a side dish. I use real butter instead of margarine, but leave the rest the same. I've also made this with buttercup squash and it is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Henryville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This tasted more like a dessert than a side dish! I didn't even use the topping, it was good enough as is. I also used about 3/4 cup of sugar, it was definitely sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
First time at bat with a butternut squash. Gotta say I was a little nervous, being the big hard mellon looking thing. My thoughts were eased when the aroma of the baking squash smacked me upside my head. Everybody lined up for 2nds on this one. I didn't do either topping to cut the cals. and didn't want it looking like a sweet potato casserole. Later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I will make it again! I didn't have wafers so i crushed oatmeal honey bars and added crushed walnuts for the topping. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States