Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe was soo good, it is more a dessert than a side dish. I cut the sugar, omitted the vanilla wafers and used a smaller pan as suggested from the reviews and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I did not do the topping and my squash measured only 2C (not 3)so I adjusted the other ingredients. I ended up reheating it for the next day and OMG it was almost like a desert. It tasted like a custard and my son's girlfriend said it reminded her of creme brulee. This is definitely one I will repeat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This is going on my menu for Thanksgiving this year:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Even the kids liked it. I used butter instead of margarine and omitted the brown sugar completely - was sweet enough. Next time, I'll probably just roast the squash first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I was looking for an alternative to my regular roasted butternut squash and I was very pleased by this alternative. I also cut the sugar down to 1/3 of a cup to avoid the added calories and avoid a dessert taste, since I was serving it with a savory chicken recipe. I didn't have the vanilla wafers, so I substituted Honey Bunches of oats and since they are fairly sweet, cut the brown sugar to 1/3 cup as well. The vote was a unanimous Delicious!!I'm thinking of making this in place of my regular Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I hope people know enough to skin the squash as it was not mentioned in the recipe. I agree the topping would be too sweet. I would sub white sugar for brown and add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This casserole was fantastic with the honey bunches of oats/butter/brown sugar topping just because it sounded like a better finish. I will be making this at the autumn family gathering I will be planning sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Thanks to several other reviews, I also cut the sugar (2/3 cup) and added cinnamon and nutmeg. Also roasted the squash beforehand instead of boiling. Used a graham cracker crumb/brown sugar/margarine mix for the topping and it turned out delicious! Next time will try reducing the milk slightly...which will probably be very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Can't believe I'd never tried butternut squash before (ever!) but they were half price in the supermarket, and I was intrigued. This was the RIGHT recipe to test my curiosity! YUM YUM YUM! I didn't add the topping (had no wafers or anything similar) but it was sweet enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was like pumpkin pie! So good and creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States