Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I think this was more like a dessert, not a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made it with no changes. My husband said it was better than sweet potato casserole. My picky children ate it everyday as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My step children were not exposed to much outside of boxed food before they met me; since then they love trying new things I make and absolutely LOVED this recipe!!! 8 thumbs up from the 4 of them! And 4 more from my husband and myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
After reading other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1/3c. in the squash and the topping but still way too sweet. I used ritz crackers in the topping. The texture was great but next time I will try without the sugar in the topping. I did add 1/4 tsp ginger and cinammon, but couldn't really taste them through the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added nutmeg and cinnamon and baked it in an 8x8 dish. For some reason 425 for 45 minutes was either way too high of a temp or too long of a cooking time...the inside of the casserole itself still tastes amazing but the top and bottom/sides were burnt!!!! Next time I make this I'll reduce the temp and/or cooking time. I also made the topping with pecans instead of vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I have made it many times. It's a holiday favorite!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was a little on the sweet side for my tastes, but that obviously is a personal issue. If I make it again, I would be tempted to add some pumpkin pie spice to the squash. The topping was yummy, and I used Low Fat 'Nilla Wafers - didn't even know that such things existed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I think I died and went to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I have made this several times during this holiday season. I did make a few changes, instead of the cup of white sugar I used 1/2c brown sugar and 1/4c white sugar, added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. For the topping I did not have vanilla wafers so substituted with crushed Cheerios. Our entire family loves this even some of the grandchildren who don't like vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Happened to be going to a fall party last night, the day after having my wisdom teeth removed. I figured I had better take something that would be tasty AND soft so I could actually eat it! This was a great recipe and the first thing to go at the party but I had a to rate it a 4, given the changes I made. I used a very large squash, roasted whole in the oven. Cutting up a squash is a pain in the butt and it was just not necessary in this case. Scooped out the squash and kept the rest of the recipe the same EXCEPT cut the sugar to one-half cup brown, no white. It would have been way to sweet with that much sugar. No streusel topping necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States