Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was a little on the sweet side for my tastes, but that obviously is a personal issue. If I make it again, I would be tempted to add some pumpkin pie spice to the squash. The topping was yummy, and I used Low Fat 'Nilla Wafers - didn't even know that such things existed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I think I died and went to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I have made this several times during this holiday season. I did make a few changes, instead of the cup of white sugar I used 1/2c brown sugar and 1/4c white sugar, added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. For the topping I did not have vanilla wafers so substituted with crushed Cheerios. Our entire family loves this even some of the grandchildren who don't like vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Happened to be going to a fall party last night, the day after having my wisdom teeth removed. I figured I had better take something that would be tasty AND soft so I could actually eat it! This was a great recipe and the first thing to go at the party but I had a to rate it a 4, given the changes I made. I used a very large squash, roasted whole in the oven. Cutting up a squash is a pain in the butt and it was just not necessary in this case. Scooped out the squash and kept the rest of the recipe the same EXCEPT cut the sugar to one-half cup brown, no white. It would have been way to sweet with that much sugar. No streusel topping necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this for a hayride party last night and had many requests for the recipe. I made some alterations only because I did not have all the ingredients on hand and it was delicious.. Instead of vanilla waffers, I used quick cooking oatmeal. Splenda brown sugar and real butter. Also have free roaming chickens so the eggs are always richer. What a hit this was. My butternut squash was home grown so I have enough to make more. Thanks allrecipes for this wonderful fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Was way too sweet! I removed and discarded the cookie/brown sugar topping after it was baked and scooped the custard like squash into a container. Now THAT, without the topping, was delicious!!! Will make this again, BUT with no topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was wonderful. I roasted the squash to bring out the sweetness. Doubled the squash with only 1/4 cup white sugar. Did brown sugar, butter, oats and a little flour for the topping. This was plenty sweet without the extra sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Based on some of the comments, I roasted, and used pecans and vanilla wafers, and nutmeg and cinnamon. This is definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMD_CT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was a really good place to start. I agree with other reviewers, microwaving THEN boiling is a little redundant t me so I peeled then cubed the squash and boiled it until it was soft (I may try roasting it next time for even better flavor). I added several shakes of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, Ginger, and ground cloves. I cut the white sugar down to a half cup because of the whole cup of brown sugar in the topping. I didn't have any vanilla wafers so I substituted about a cup and a quarter of rolled oats. I'll probably do it that way again and cut the butter and brown sugar by half ( I may throw in a handfull of crushed pecans too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was a good side dish but was little sweet for me, next time I may cut down on the amount of sugar I add. I could eat very much of it because it seemed way to sweet. But it cooked really nicely and had a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States