Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I recalculated the ingredient amounts based on what I had on hand, 1/4 of a large butternut squash, and I also put the ingredients in a smaller glass pan, an about 8x5 one. Even though the pan was smaller, I still baked for 40min. Reminds me of pumpkin pie but without a crust. It is like a better, baked, dessert version of this squash by itself; you can taste the difference with the egg and milk added. I liked this and might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This recipe was great. My husband said that if I had put it in a fancy dish, it would have been just like something at Ruth's Chris (a really fancy steak place). I didn't use the cookies in the topping, but used all the other ingredients the same. I used a combination of baking in the oven and the microwave to cook the squash until tender. It was a bit of work to get the rind off the squash, but it was worth it!. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
So good, the topping reminds me of pecan pie. Made exactly as recipe said, but cut squash, took out seeds and baked then scooped out and mashed. I used all the ingredients as listed and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was looking for a recipe that resembled Kenny Rogers Roasters butternut squash casserole & this one is oh so close & oh so yummy! I think I will cut down the brown sugar next time but it was great! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Some of my family members are obsessed and beg for this every holiday! It is a lot of work for me but everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have to say FANTASTIC! This dish was so good paired with a pork tenderloin. I like others, had to improvise, instead of vanilla wafers (I didn't have on hand) I used 1 cup of frosted flakes with half the brown sugar and melted butter. I also used a little smaller casserole dish as suggested by other reviews. My guests and husband were so impressed. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I cut the sugars both in the dish and to go on top and it was much better the second time around. I also used a smaller casserole dish and it didn't seem as dry and gave it more of a squash feel than a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I was hoping to find a recipe similar to something I had at a restaurant before. This was so, so close! I served this for some friends at Christmas time and it was a huge hit! Tasted fabulous! I also BAKED my squash instead of microwaving. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the topping. The restaurant version I had was a cake consistency, and this was more crunchy -- still delicious, though. Otherwise, this would be a perfect 5-Star rating from me. Preference aside, this is a fantastic recipe as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Delicious! I didn't have a lot of time so just sliced the squash in half and microwaved it until it was soft enough to scoop out of the shell. Also didn't have the vanilla wafers so I tried putting some corn flakes in it (we use these with our sweet potato casserole). I think it would have been better to have just used the butter and brown sugar. And yes, it was sweet, but my family likes sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I baked my squash first, the "skin' peeled right off and the squash carmelized on the baking sheet, bringing out the natural sweetness. Instead of milk I used a half cup of orange juice and cut the sugar to a quarter cup, then blended very well before adding the rest of the ingredients. For the topping I used oat flake cereal, crushed almonds and dried cranberries, using only half the brown sugar called for. Still very sweet, so I may cut down on the sugars even further this weekend for the family holiday get together. It is a wonderful pot luck dish as it is delicious piping hot, yet for the late arriving guests it's still tasty even though it has cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States