Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is really delicious. Definitely like dessert. I have made several times. I always bake the squash. Also I put the topping ingredients in the food processor and it carmelizes nicely, makes it a little like a creme brulee topping if you broil for a couple of minutes. Also, mix eggs first and let squash cool to avoid have cooked eggs streaming thru custard center. I find butter to be slightly more delicious. Fabulous! Pleases even my impossible to please Aunt! Thank you for wonderful family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My husband hates squash, but loved this dish. My kids also gobbled it up. I didn't have any vanilla wafers, so I used graham crackers for the top instead and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Was really good.. but i did alter the original recipe. I wanted to make it as a side dish and instinctively knew that 1 cup of sugar would make it more like a dessert. That being said I used 1/4 cup of sugar (i used sugar in the raw) and only 1 cup of milk (i used unsweetened vanilla almond milk). This cut back on calories and fat. I did not have margarine so i did use butter and I used basic graham crackers 1/4 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the topping. The end result was more like a custard and worked well as a side dish. It was still sweet, just not overpowering sweet. My kids GOBBLED IT UP!! A testimony to the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Yummy-yummy for the tummy! This is one of those recipes you never let go of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumm's_the_word

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was really good however the brown sugar/ butter glaze that I used for the top made the texture like soggy cornbread. I didn't add the 1c of white sugar but instead used about 1/4c of brown sugar, the flavor was impeccable! I think that I used to much butter for the glaze as it wasn't crumbly but more like caramel. Next time I won't even use the glaze but will try some marshmallows instead! I did double it and it filled a 9x13. It looked like a yummy pan of cornbread when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I love this casserole, I've made it at least 5 times. The recipe as-is is a great dessert, but to use it as a side dish I reduced the sugar in the actual dish to 1/4 cup and I used crushed up Fiber One cereal in the topping instead of the cookies. I reduced both the sugar and the butter in the topping. I think it's too thin in the 13x9 pan so I use an 8x8 dish and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good, but takes a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I wish I could rate this more than 5 stars! My family LOVED it. It was my first time using butternut squash, but won't be my last. I only substituted the margarine with butter and glad I did. I used an 8x8 pan which yielded a much thicker custard. On other suggestions, as well as my 11 year old, I will try some cinnamon and nutmeg next time (which will be really soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I used a small squash that made about 1 cup cooked mashed. I used 1/3 the amounts of the other ingredients and honey graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers (grandkids ate the cookies). The family thought I had given them dessert with dinner! We WILL be adding this to the Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I also baked it in a smaller dish, for the recalculated version, and it was great! Its had a sweet taste and yet it was a veggie! Great for the kids. I shared it with a few ladies from my church who also enjoyed it. I will defenitly make it again, probably a Thanksgiving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States