Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was so good. I made this for Thanksgiving Dinner and it was a big hit. Per the advice of others, I cut down on the sugar by half. For the topping, I chose not to use the cookies because I didn't want it to taste like a dessert. I substituted oats combined with chopped pecans, cinnamon and a little flour. Again, I cut way down on the sugar by half. I mixed it all with melted butter until crumbly and topped the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Most awesome Butternut squash recipe I have found! I have made it 2 years now for Thanksgiving and everyone raves about it! I will be making it this year again for Thansgiving and I've also made it for Christmas dinner! I am not allowed to cut back on the sugar (per my husband) however if you put in 1/2 cup of white sugar I think it would still be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweeters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this for Christmas a couple years ago when my husband and I hosted and my family loved it! It is delicious! My mom is hosting Thanksgiving this year, and she asked me to make this and bring it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is really delicious. Definitely like dessert. I have made several times. I always bake the squash. Also I put the topping ingredients in the food processor and it carmelizes nicely, makes it a little like a creme brulee topping if you broil for a couple of minutes. Also, mix eggs first and let squash cool to avoid have cooked eggs streaming thru custard center. I find butter to be slightly more delicious. Fabulous! Pleases even my impossible to please Aunt! Thank you for wonderful family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My husband hates squash, but loved this dish. My kids also gobbled it up. I didn't have any vanilla wafers, so I used graham crackers for the top instead and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Was really good.. but i did alter the original recipe. I wanted to make it as a side dish and instinctively knew that 1 cup of sugar would make it more like a dessert. That being said I used 1/4 cup of sugar (i used sugar in the raw) and only 1 cup of milk (i used unsweetened vanilla almond milk). This cut back on calories and fat. I did not have margarine so i did use butter and I used basic graham crackers 1/4 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the topping. The end result was more like a custard and worked well as a side dish. It was still sweet, just not overpowering sweet. My kids GOBBLED IT UP!! A testimony to the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Yummy-yummy for the tummy! This is one of those recipes you never let go of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumm's_the_word

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was really good however the brown sugar/ butter glaze that I used for the top made the texture like soggy cornbread. I didn't add the 1c of white sugar but instead used about 1/4c of brown sugar, the flavor was impeccable! I think that I used to much butter for the glaze as it wasn't crumbly but more like caramel. Next time I won't even use the glaze but will try some marshmallows instead! I did double it and it filled a 9x13. It looked like a yummy pan of cornbread when it was done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I love this casserole, I've made it at least 5 times. The recipe as-is is a great dessert, but to use it as a side dish I reduced the sugar in the actual dish to 1/4 cup and I used crushed up Fiber One cereal in the topping instead of the cookies. I reduced both the sugar and the butter in the topping. I think it's too thin in the 13x9 pan so I use an 8x8 dish and it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States