Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Oh my goodness..this was so delicious!!! Everybody loved it!! I made the recipe as listed but also added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg...tastes very similar to sweet potatoes.. I cooked the topping for 8 min so it wouldn't get too brown...Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was Just enough sweetness with the squash, all together a must have recipe for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyky van Es

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is great. It is now one of our regular dishes for thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Wow! This dish was a hit even after I shared that it was squash! I agree it was a little too sweet, almost a dessert dish and for some reason mine was very watery, will bake squash next time as I normally do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe is amazing! My family has been using this recipe for the past few years and it has quickly become the most requested holiday dish! There's NEVER any leftovers! We make this exactly as written but you can always tweak the seasoning to your taste. I definitely recommed trying the topping as well, it is awesome! This dish is like the best parts of a sweet potato casserole and a custard combined!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I rate this recope a 10. My family went crazy over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Omg. This is fabulous. At first, i thought that there was too much butter in the topping, because it was like mush, instead of crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Barry
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Great recipe!! I also added cinnamon to the squash mixture and apples as well, and oats to the topping. This recipe is great for thanksgiving ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsiefker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
The first time I made this, we were looking for something new. We had some Winter squash in the house and we were tired of using the same old squash recipes. I originally made it using Harlequin and Gem squashes because that's what I had, and it worked fine. There is so much sugar in this recipe (I reduce it by just a little) that we eat it as a dessert. It is a super alternative to pumpkin pie, especially if you don't feel like dealing with a crust. Both have custard-like consistencies. My Variations: Like others, I pre-baked the squash instead of boiling. I find the ultimate flavour is richer if the squash is baked. I added cinnamon and allspice to the custard mixture. Yummy! For the topping, instead of vanilla wafers, I mix together whole oats; mixed dried fruit (or just raisins or currents); cinnamon; and sliced almonds with the brown sugar and butter. This makes a sweet, crunchy topping after baking. This is a fabulous recipe that one can adjust to suit one's family. It has become a standard recipe in our household. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wander Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhett
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I used white squash came out like an egg custard it was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States