Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This has been a requested favorite for over a decade in our house. I don't put the extra sugar in the topping, as the wafers make it sweet enough for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe was soo good, it is more a dessert than a side dish. I cut the sugar, omitted the vanilla wafers and used a smaller pan as suggested from the reviews and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I did not do the topping and my squash measured only 2C (not 3)so I adjusted the other ingredients. I ended up reheating it for the next day and OMG it was almost like a desert. It tasted like a custard and my son's girlfriend said it reminded her of creme brulee. This is definitely one I will repeat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This is going on my menu for Thanksgiving this year:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Even the kids liked it. I used butter instead of margarine and omitted the brown sugar completely - was sweet enough. Next time, I'll probably just roast the squash first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I was looking for an alternative to my regular roasted butternut squash and I was very pleased by this alternative. I also cut the sugar down to 1/3 of a cup to avoid the added calories and avoid a dessert taste, since I was serving it with a savory chicken recipe. I didn't have the vanilla wafers, so I substituted Honey Bunches of oats and since they are fairly sweet, cut the brown sugar to 1/3 cup as well. The vote was a unanimous Delicious!!I'm thinking of making this in place of my regular Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I hope people know enough to skin the squash as it was not mentioned in the recipe. I agree the topping would be too sweet. I would sub white sugar for brown and add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This casserole was fantastic with the honey bunches of oats/butter/brown sugar topping just because it sounded like a better finish. I will be making this at the autumn family gathering I will be planning sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Thanks to several other reviews, I also cut the sugar (2/3 cup) and added cinnamon and nutmeg. Also roasted the squash beforehand instead of boiling. Used a graham cracker crumb/brown sugar/margarine mix for the topping and it turned out delicious! Next time will try reducing the milk slightly...which will probably be very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Can't believe I'd never tried butternut squash before (ever!) but they were half price in the supermarket, and I was intrigued. This was the RIGHT recipe to test my curiosity! YUM YUM YUM! I didn't add the topping (had no wafers or anything similar) but it was sweet enough. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States