Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was wonderful. I roasted the squash to bring out the sweetness. Doubled the squash with only 1/4 cup white sugar. Did brown sugar, butter, oats and a little flour for the topping. This was plenty sweet without the extra sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Based on some of the comments, I roasted, and used pecans and vanilla wafers, and nutmeg and cinnamon. This is definitely a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMD_CT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was a really good place to start. I agree with other reviewers, microwaving then boiling is redundant so I have switched to roasting my squash. Roasting preserves more nutrients and flavor. I added several shakes of cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, Ginger, and ground cloves to punch things up a bit. I cut the white sugar down to one quarter of a cup because of the whole cup of brown sugar in the topping, and I actually like the taste of the squash without making it overly sweet. For the topping I substitute about a cup and a quarter of rolled oats( Sometimes I throw in a handfull of crushed pecans too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was a good side dish but was little sweet for me, next time I may cut down on the amount of sugar I add. I could eat very much of it because it seemed way to sweet. But it cooked really nicely and had a good consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is heavenly!I made it with the ones left over from freezing. So easy cooking in the micro first then steaming instead of boiling. I changed a couple things,brown sugar instead of white,gave it a little caramel flavor, half and half instead of milk and cinnamon grahams instead of wafers. It was rich but not too much,not too sweet. You could taste the squash at the end of the bite.Watched anthony Zimmern so much I like to describe each bite!!! I know we will be planting much more butternut next year and thank goodness it freezes so nicely. I can't imagine what the reviewer did to dislike it so much,please try it again with these tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I make this when we have guests for dinner and everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. Since living in TZ for 3 years our diet now includes only fresh food made from scratch which means we don't get a lot of sugar from processed foods. So, I cut the sugar in half, use pumpkin when I cannot get butternut squash, and I eliminate the topping all together because we don't get anything like vanilla wafers here-but I don't mind eliminating that processed food anyway, and the extra calories from the sugar and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This is the only way my kids will eat butternut squash, and they love it! I only put on a 1/4 of the topping, and bake the squash in the oven instead of microwaving it. Other than that I make it as written. Made it for Christmas and Easter, was a big hit even though my family traditionally has sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
We loved this recipe! For the first time ever my daughter asked me if I could make more. We are a gluten free family so I modified the recipe by using a gluten-free flour blend in place of the flour and cinnamon chex in place of the vanilla wafers. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stahract

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I loved this recipe! I did add cinnamon and nutmeg to the squash and omitted the cookies in the topping. They are unnecessary really. This isn't something we can eat on a regular basis due to its ingredients but an awesome recipe for a special occasion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
So very delicious! Everyone loved this, even people who do not care for winter squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 378) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States