Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
After reading other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1/3c. in the squash and the topping but still way too sweet. I used ritz crackers in the topping. The texture was great but next time I will try without the sugar in the topping. I did add 1/4 tsp ginger and cinammon, but couldn't really taste them through the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added nutmeg and cinnamon and baked it in an 8x8 dish. For some reason 425 for 45 minutes was either way too high of a temp or too long of a cooking time...the inside of the casserole itself still tastes amazing but the top and bottom/sides were burnt!!!! Next time I make this I'll reduce the temp and/or cooking time. I also made the topping with pecans instead of vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I have made it many times. It's a holiday favorite!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was a little on the sweet side for my tastes, but that obviously is a personal issue. If I make it again, I would be tempted to add some pumpkin pie spice to the squash. The topping was yummy, and I used Low Fat 'Nilla Wafers - didn't even know that such things existed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I think I died and went to heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I have made this several times during this holiday season. I did make a few changes, instead of the cup of white sugar I used 1/2c brown sugar and 1/4c white sugar, added 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. For the topping I did not have vanilla wafers so substituted with crushed Cheerios. Our entire family loves this even some of the grandchildren who don't like vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Happened to be going to a fall party last night, the day after having my wisdom teeth removed. I figured I had better take something that would be tasty AND soft so I could actually eat it! This was a great recipe and the first thing to go at the party but I had a to rate it a 4, given the changes I made. I used a very large squash, roasted whole in the oven. Cutting up a squash is a pain in the butt and it was just not necessary in this case. Scooped out the squash and kept the rest of the recipe the same EXCEPT cut the sugar to one-half cup brown, no white. It would have been way to sweet with that much sugar. No streusel topping necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I made this for a hayride party last night and had many requests for the recipe. I made some alterations only because I did not have all the ingredients on hand and it was delicious.. Instead of vanilla waffers, I used quick cooking oatmeal. Splenda brown sugar and real butter. Also have free roaming chickens so the eggs are always richer. What a hit this was. My butternut squash was home grown so I have enough to make more. Thanks allrecipes for this wonderful fall recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Was way too sweet! I removed and discarded the cookie/brown sugar topping after it was baked and scooped the custard like squash into a container. Now THAT, without the topping, was delicious!!! Will make this again, BUT with no topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was wonderful. I roasted the squash to bring out the sweetness. Doubled the squash with only 1/4 cup white sugar. Did brown sugar, butter, oats and a little flour for the topping. This was plenty sweet without the extra sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States