Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Oh my goodness this is delicious!!!! And a very forgiving recipe. I made this because I was making roasted butternut squash for two and had too much squash. Since it was more like 3/4s of a squash I used less milk (1 cup), less eggs (2), and to reduce the calorie count only 1/3 cup sugar and about 1 1/2 tbs butter. For the topping pecans and just a sprinkle of brown sugar. It tastes like creme brûlée
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
"yum, Grandma, thank you". This took me back to a 'comfort zone' that was three decades ago for me. My family loved it too. So I guess I'll continue growing Butternut Squash" again next year. Times are hard but the Kitchen can bring comfort to this season. I didn't have vanilla wafers so I substituded crushed Cherios instead. Heart healthy, right? It''s a blend between a vegetarian side-dish and/or a farmer's sweet tooth in-between chores. A definitate *Historic Do Again. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njoynbakin
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
You must try this butternut squash casserole- it turned out SO scrumptious! I followed the advice of reviewers who said to add some spices, and it turned out like a butternut squash crisp or pie, because when I ate it cold just now, it tasted like one of the best pumpkin pies I've ever had. DEFINITELY would work as a dessert, served cold, or Thanksgiving-type side dish, served hot. And it's that delicious crunchy/chewy topping that makes it better than a pie crust! Here's how I made it: Cut the squash in half lengthwise & remove seeds. Place the halves face down in a baking dish and bake at 375 degrees for 45 min. to 1 hour. Remove and scoop out flesh with a large spoon- rind should peel off easily. In a large bowl, mash squash with a potato masher until really smooth, and remove any stringy squash pieces that you may see. Add the remaining casserole filling ingredients. Also, add: 1 tsp. cinnamon 1/2 tsp. nutmeg 1/2 tsp. allspice Stir mixture by hand, until smooth, before pouring into the baking dish. Don't bake yet! For the topping, use a little more than 3/4 cup, rather than 1 cup of brown sugar, so it's not overly sweet. Sprinkle the topping evenly over the casserole before baking the whole thing for 45 minutes. The topping will get dark brown on points, but it won't overcook. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Three Pack
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I've made this a few times, without the topping and we absolutely love it. This evening I had some old animal crackers I was going to throw out so I used those instead of nilla wafers for the topping and it was great. We still prefer it without the topping, but it was a successful experiment. I added a 1/2 tsp of ground ginger, 1/2 tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. It's a great way to sneak squash into my husband's diet. I love squash, but he's selective about his veggies. I think this would be an amazing Thanksgiving side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Three Pack

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I had to modify this to make it gluten-free by using GF flour and omitting the cookies on top. I used a combo of crushed GF pretzels with a bit of flour mixed in instead of the cookies. I also reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. Next time I will simply do nut topping like I put on sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Four stars as written. Five stars with these changes: Decrease sugar to 3/4 cup, use 1 quart (4 c.) of canned squash, and skip the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I think this was more like a dessert, not a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made it with no changes. My husband said it was better than sweet potato casserole. My picky children ate it everyday as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My step children were not exposed to much outside of boxed food before they met me; since then they love trying new things I make and absolutely LOVED this recipe!!! 8 thumbs up from the 4 of them! And 4 more from my husband and myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States