Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good, but takes a long time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I wish I could rate this more than 5 stars! My family LOVED it. It was my first time using butternut squash, but won't be my last. I only substituted the margarine with butter and glad I did. I used an 8x8 pan which yielded a much thicker custard. On other suggestions, as well as my 11 year old, I will try some cinnamon and nutmeg next time (which will be really soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montclair, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. I used a small squash that made about 1 cup cooked mashed. I used 1/3 the amounts of the other ingredients and honey graham crackers instead of vanilla wafers (grandkids ate the cookies). The family thought I had given them dessert with dinner! We WILL be adding this to the Thanksgiving menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This was an excellent recipe. I also baked it in a smaller dish, for the recalculated version, and it was great! Its had a sweet taste and yet it was a veggie! Great for the kids. I shared it with a few ladies from my church who also enjoyed it. I will defenitly make it again, probably a Thanksgiving dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I recalculated the ingredient amounts based on what I had on hand, 1/4 of a large butternut squash, and I also put the ingredients in a smaller glass pan, an about 8x5 one. Even though the pan was smaller, I still baked for 40min. Reminds me of pumpkin pie but without a crust. It is like a better, baked, dessert version of this squash by itself; you can taste the difference with the egg and milk added. I liked this and might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This recipe was great. My husband said that if I had put it in a fancy dish, it would have been just like something at Ruth's Chris (a really fancy steak place). I didn't use the cookies in the topping, but used all the other ingredients the same. I used a combination of baking in the oven and the microwave to cook the squash until tender. It was a bit of work to get the rind off the squash, but it was worth it!. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
So good, the topping reminds me of pecan pie. Made exactly as recipe said, but cut squash, took out seeds and baked then scooped out and mashed. I used all the ingredients as listed and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I was looking for a recipe that resembled Kenny Rogers Roasters butternut squash casserole & this one is oh so close & oh so yummy! I think I will cut down the brown sugar next time but it was great! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Some of my family members are obsessed and beg for this every holiday! It is a lot of work for me but everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YAELIE24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I have to say FANTASTIC! This dish was so good paired with a pork tenderloin. I like others, had to improvise, instead of vanilla wafers (I didn't have on hand) I used 1 cup of frosted flakes with half the brown sugar and melted butter. I also used a little smaller casserole dish as suggested by other reviews. My guests and husband were so impressed. Thanks so much for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States