Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a delicious recipe. I made a couple of minor changes, due to lack of ingredients and didn't want to go to the store, but didn't hurt it a bit. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I liked the idea of cereal for the topping, and I used a Raisin Bran Crunch/ Grapenuts mix -- definitely crunchy, but very good. The raisins made a nice addition, and I may add some to the recipe. I haven't cooked anything in a long time, and this was a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I love this recipe. I've got a squash at home ready for making it this weekend. I soften the squash by cutting it in half, seeding, and baking for 45 minutes at 375. I only use a 1/2 cup of sugar, and I use ground up graham crackers coated in melted butter for a topping. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe and although I was worried about the runniness of the casserole, it set up nicely and tasted great. However, next time I think I'll use a little less sugar or leave off the topping, it was a bit too sweet for my taste. Also, the recipe calls for 3 cups of mashed squash so you'll need more than the 1 squash listed in the ingredients. Otherwise, a tasty and innovative way to use up those summer squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
SO good! Despite it being a hot time of year I bought another butternut squash this week to do it all over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This recipe was very good. Not suitable as a main dish but as a side dish and probably closer to dessert. Almost had the consistency of bread pudding (a little more thickening would get it there) which was very nice. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
It was a good idea but didn't pull through in the end. The texture was off and it was much too sweet. I think maybe my squash was smaller than the "1 butternut squash" called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This is so good. I made this last year and I have just been craving it lately, so I had to just make it again. I follow the recipe exactly except to add the honey bunches of o's cereal. Mostly because in other recipes I have had with wafers they tend to get soggy. Very, very good though. We love it here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is dessert... WOW! Super sweet. I know this is bad for some but for me it was tasty! Just had a tiny slice as I would any sweet dessert so the sugar wasn't overkill. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Very easy and delicious recipe. Instead of the vanilla wafer topping, I used crushed graham crackers with the melted margarine and skipped the brown sugar - it's very sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Delicious, a lot of compliments on this recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States