Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
My family went CRAZY for this! I'd read the reviews, and followed a lot of the recommended mods - baked the squash, and added 1 t. cinnamon, 1/2 t. nutmeg, and 1 t. ginger. For the topping I used corn flakes rather than the cookies. We weren't crazy about the topping, as the corn flakes got a bit soggy and chewy. We'll try a different topping component next time, but "next time" will definitely be SOON! Such a delicious way to feed everyone some nutritious food...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyblitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I've used crushed ginger snaps instead of the vanilla wafers and I like the results much better. Also the other suggestion to bake instead of boil the squash gives a 'nuttier' layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This is lovely. If you're unsure what to make with butternut squash, make this. I made the modifications of using less sugar all around and using honey bunches of oats instead of the wafers (I didn't have any on hand). It's delicious! Next time I'm going to experiment with maple sugar or honey instead of the brown sugar and adding more spices to this...like cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B_Dexterous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Capitol Heights, Maryland, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Awesome recipe! Although I baked instead of boiling in the beginning I followed the rest of recipe exactly and served it at a BBQ we had and everyone loved it......even the ones who said they never eat squash!! Just another note, everywhere we are invited for dinner they want me to bring this casserole!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Moapa, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This IS a delicious recipe and a great alternative for Sweet Potato Casserole. I slightly tweaked this based on other reviewer's suggestions as follows: I cut the Squash in half, scooped out the seeds and placed the two halves, cut side down, on a baking sheet. I baked in a 350 degree oven for 45" (Test for doneness - squash should be soft, but not mushy.) I peeled the squash and cut into cubes & blended them into a puree. I cut the sugar to a scant 3/4 cup & cut the milk to 3/4 cup. I added 1 tsp. cinnamon & 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. This will give you a pudding-like texture. I baked this until it was set in a buttered oval baking dish for approx. 45".) Instead of the 9 x 13 dish, I used a buttered large oval baking dish (Definitely smaller than the 9 x 13 that this recipe recommends.) For the topping, I used 3/4 stick of butter and added chopped pecans into the cookie crumb/brown sugar mixture. It was absolutely delicious and I look forward to making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This is a delicious recipe. I made a couple of minor changes, due to lack of ingredients and didn't want to go to the store, but didn't hurt it a bit. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I liked the idea of cereal for the topping, and I used a Raisin Bran Crunch/ Grapenuts mix -- definitely crunchy, but very good. The raisins made a nice addition, and I may add some to the recipe. I haven't cooked anything in a long time, and this was a great recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I love this recipe. I've got a squash at home ready for making it this weekend. I soften the squash by cutting it in half, seeding, and baking for 45 minutes at 375. I only use a 1/2 cup of sugar, and I use ground up graham crackers coated in melted butter for a topping. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I followed the recipe and although I was worried about the runniness of the casserole, it set up nicely and tasted great. However, next time I think I'll use a little less sugar or leave off the topping, it was a bit too sweet for my taste. Also, the recipe calls for 3 cups of mashed squash so you'll need more than the 1 squash listed in the ingredients. Otherwise, a tasty and innovative way to use up those summer squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
SO good! Despite it being a hot time of year I bought another butternut squash this week to do it all over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States