Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Oh my sooooo sweet - even if I were serving it as a dessert! I even skipped the vanilla wafers. The texture was perfect, but no one could even eat more than two bites, even the kids. Next time I will cut the sugar in half and use double the squash, and try more of a strusel topping - maybe with nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This tastes almost exactly like pumpkin pie, if you modify it like others have suggested with the cinnamon and nutmeg. I halved the sugar in both the dish and the topping and it was still way too sweet for us, but if you have a sweet tooth, you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My family loves this recipe!!! I cut both the white and brown sugar by half and used Ritz crackers instead of the vanilla wafers to help cut down the sweetness. I love the custard-like texture and it is great hot or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I would definitely add spices to this recipe. I thought it was bland. Maybe a little nutmeg or/and cinnomon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this sounded great and it was!! easy to make tased so good it could be used as a desert will use the topping for apple crist variation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Thanks for this great recipe! I had two very small butternut squashes so I cut back a bit on some ingredients, used an 8x8 pan, and used chopped pecans mixed with brown sugar as a topping. Baked for only about 20 min. and it was set. Cooled it off and tasted it, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
We like sweet potato casserole a lot and this is very similar. It does make a lot, so I may half it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Very Delicious!!! I used only 1/2 cup brown sugar for the topping and it still tasted like I was eating dessert. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Quinton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This was amazing! I didn't have nilla wafers, but I did have corn pops for the kids and I crushed those in the food processor and followed the directions as follows. It was like a dessert. EVERYONE loved this. I think I'll add this to my Thanksgiving menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wstbrkfan1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Used 1/2 C. brown sugar, 3/4 cup milk, and 2 eggs. Skipped the topping. Thanks for the starting point - would have been too sweet for me with a full cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nodaway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States