Butternut Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I had to modify this to make it gluten-free by using GF flour and omitting the cookies on top. I used a combo of crushed GF pretzels with a bit of flour mixed in instead of the cookies. I also reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup. Next time I will simply do nut topping like I put on sweet potato casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Four stars as written. Five stars with these changes: Decrease sugar to 3/4 cup, use 1 quart (4 c.) of canned squash, and skip the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I think this was more like a dessert, not a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made it with no changes. My husband said it was better than sweet potato casserole. My picky children ate it everyday as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
My step children were not exposed to much outside of boxed food before they met me; since then they love trying new things I make and absolutely LOVED this recipe!!! 8 thumbs up from the 4 of them! And 4 more from my husband and myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
After reading other reviews, I reduced the sugar to 1/3c. in the squash and the topping but still way too sweet. I used ritz crackers in the topping. The texture was great but next time I will try without the sugar in the topping. I did add 1/4 tsp ginger and cinammon, but couldn't really taste them through the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Qualicum Beach, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I added nutmeg and cinnamon and baked it in an 8x8 dish. For some reason 425 for 45 minutes was either way too high of a temp or too long of a cooking time...the inside of the casserole itself still tastes amazing but the top and bottom/sides were burnt!!!! Next time I make this I'll reduce the temp and/or cooking time. I also made the topping with pecans instead of vanilla wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I have made it many times. It's a holiday favorite!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This was a little on the sweet side for my tastes, but that obviously is a personal issue. If I make it again, I would be tempted to add some pumpkin pie spice to the squash. The topping was yummy, and I used Low Fat 'Nilla Wafers - didn't even know that such things existed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States