Butternut Squash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
I'm still making them-It's taken me 90 minutes total so far. I had to leave the house and when I come back I will put them in the oven. I don't get how these would take 50 minutes total. Anyway, I fried 2 and I will bake the rest later. I used regular flour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vzvghg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Replaced bean flour with regular. Was very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I thought these were pretty tasty! I used regular flour and next time I could cut the curry in half. The sour cream and pumpkin seeds are a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These were wonderful! I used 1 tbsp red curry paste near the end of sautéing the onions because that is what I had on hand. We love latkes and these fit the bill without the carbs. I cooked the cakes in coconut oil and it didn't effect the taste. My husband could not believe these weren't simply revved up potato pancakes. He thought that he didn't like squash. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Hart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
absolutely delicious, but I think a bit too mushy. I recommend wringing out a bit of moisture from the squash before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Increased the spices, subbed onion powder for onion (i was feeling lazy), 2eggs, and used all garb-fava flour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe! We picked 200 lbs of butternut squash from our garden and I have been anxiously trying to figure out what to do with all of them. I doubled the recipe for the 3 of us, used regular flour and corn meal instead, and also used 1 tablespoon of curry instead of 1 teaspoon. It was fun to make and was delicious. Highly recommend using a food processor. Can't imagine hand grating the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedBeaumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Worth the shredding! (I used regular flour and suggest pressing the extra water out of the squash) YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is really good - I love the curry with the squash, really gives the squash a sweet taste. Since I grow this squash in my garden every year it's good to have recipes like this. I'd just finished making Chef John's hand pies(apple turnovers)so I used the left over egg wash for the egg in this recipe. So thanks Chef John. Ps. the hand pies look delicious too! JIM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
While peeling and later grating this squash, I was thinking it wasn't worth the trouble, but the rest of the recipe is super easy, and the result was delicious. I will definitely make again. For those who want to use regular white flour, just replace the 1/4 c garbanzo-fava bean flour for white or whole wheat flour. I used cornmeal in place of the corn flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States