Butternut Squash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe! We picked 200 lbs of butternut squash from our garden and I have been anxiously trying to figure out what to do with all of them. I doubled the recipe for the 3 of us, used regular flour and corn meal instead, and also used 1 tablespoon of curry instead of 1 teaspoon. It was fun to make and was delicious. Highly recommend using a food processor. Can't imagine hand grating the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BelovedBeaumont

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Worth the shredding! (I used regular flour and suggest pressing the extra water out of the squash) YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by viva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is really good - I love the curry with the squash, really gives the squash a sweet taste. Since I grow this squash in my garden every year it's good to have recipes like this. I'd just finished making Chef John's hand pies(apple turnovers)so I used the left over egg wash for the egg in this recipe. So thanks Chef John. Ps. the hand pies look delicious too! JIM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
While peeling and later grating this squash, I was thinking it wasn't worth the trouble, but the rest of the recipe is super easy, and the result was delicious. I will definitely make again. For those who want to use regular white flour, just replace the 1/4 c garbanzo-fava bean flour for white or whole wheat flour. I used cornmeal in place of the corn flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I'm new at this and these were amazing. I used red's gluten/dairy free pancake mix and it worked just fine. Relatively easy and super yummy. My 3 year old and I ate these up like it was our job. Nice one Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I tried this recipe today....YUM! I told my daughter who hates butternut squash it was potato and she gobbled it up. I didn't have any cumin on hand, so I added a bit more curry. I also saute a garlic clove with the onion. Def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved them! Used regular flour and corn meal in place of the corn flour. My husband and I both liked them better than potato pancakes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is easy to make and taste great. This would be good to serve with breakfast in place of hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I really enjoyed eating these! I added a bit more curry powder to mine, and I plan to try them topped with a little raita instead of sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I just used regular flour and these turned out great. Everyone enjoyed them. Great way to get another veggie into a meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States