Butternut Squash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. Next time we'll add a little more pepper and curry. I didn't have corn flour so used coconut flour instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good taste, although I like things spicier! I served these with hot pepper sauce! This needed 2 medium eggs to moisten up the mixture since I didn't have a large one. I omitted the oil, and used a light coating of vegetable spray when cooking the onions as well as frying the cakes. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this and loved it! Can't wait to try it on my picky husband! I tried different toppings, butter, yogurt, honey...but sour cream was definitely the best! I plan to grate and freeze lots of butternut so I can have this all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great! we had the sour cream for the garnish, but everyone ate them down and went back for more without ever touching it. Definitely being added as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
These were delicious & would go great with black beans I think. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Everyone in my house loved these! I substituted the bean flour for almond flour bc it was all i had. I think next time I will add some minced garlic to the onions. Such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My husband loved them, my very picky son (who only eats pizza)surprised me by finishing his plate. Anything that is healthy and my son finishes deserves 6 stars. I could not find the garbanzo flour so I substituted it with some durum weat semolina flour. My son ate his with ketchup. Next time I will try to get the butternut pre cut cause that was a pain to cut and grate. I would also double the recipe. I only got to have one :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photohoot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Delicious! If you can thinly grate your squash, it makes it look fancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatmaliscookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I just used regular flour and these turned out great. Everyone enjoyed them. Great way to get another veggie into a meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I really enjoyed eating these! I added a bit more curry powder to mine, and I plan to try them topped with a little raita instead of sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States