Butternut Squash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this and loved it! Can't wait to try it on my picky husband! I tried different toppings, butter, yogurt, honey...but sour cream was definitely the best! I plan to grate and freeze lots of butternut so I can have this all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I just used regular flour and these turned out great. Everyone enjoyed them. Great way to get another veggie into a meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
What to do with the butternut squash sitting on the counter. Not sure why I bought it in the first place. Soup, nah. The husband likes potato pancakes, maybe I can get away with this. I grated the onion in the bowl with the rest of the ingredients (lazy me), doubled the spice, and added a splash of mustard oil. The texture was smoother than latkes, and the taste of course was Indian appetizer. I served it with yogurt and lime pickle. Initially he was reserved in his praise, probably due to the dreaded squash ingredient. After a few bites he was a convert. Final ruling: "That's a winner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. Next time we'll add a little more pepper and curry. I didn't have corn flour so used coconut flour instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great! we had the sour cream for the garnish, but everyone ate them down and went back for more without ever touching it. Definitely being added as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
this was great... definitely glad i put the squash into a colander and pressed all the extra liquid out!. I also added a glove of minced garlic, a tbsp of lemon juice and a grated carrot... Next time, I may add a lil turmeric and coriander... but I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good taste, although I like things spicier! I served these with hot pepper sauce! This needed 2 medium eggs to moisten up the mixture since I didn't have a large one. I omitted the oil, and used a light coating of vegetable spray when cooking the onions as well as frying the cakes. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was a great addition replacing the starch from our plate. I did substitute some ingredients, Chili powder (1 TBSP)for the curry, Coconut flour for the corn, and I needed two eggs for the batter to stick. Very tasty, everyone at the table liked it and requests it again. Will be great for breakfast too! My son said it was like hash-browns. Thanks - would never have thought to do this with squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
While peeling and later grating this squash, I was thinking it wasn't worth the trouble, but the rest of the recipe is super easy, and the result was delicious. I will definitely make again. For those who want to use regular white flour, just replace the 1/4 c garbanzo-fava bean flour for white or whole wheat flour. I used cornmeal in place of the corn flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved them! Used regular flour and corn meal in place of the corn flour. My husband and I both liked them better than potato pancakes. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States