Butternut Squash Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this and loved it! Can't wait to try it on my picky husband! I tried different toppings, butter, yogurt, honey...but sour cream was definitely the best! I plan to grate and freeze lots of butternut so I can have this all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good taste, although I like things spicier! I served these with hot pepper sauce! This needed 2 medium eggs to moisten up the mixture since I didn't have a large one. I omitted the oil, and used a light coating of vegetable spray when cooking the onions as well as frying the cakes. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Great! we had the sour cream for the garnish, but everyone ate them down and went back for more without ever touching it. Definitely being added as a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
My husband and I loved this recipe. Next time we'll add a little more pepper and curry. I didn't have corn flour so used coconut flour instead. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Taste was good but it did need more spices as stated by other reviews. I'm not a big fan of curry so I'll need to replace that spice with another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julias1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
What to do with the butternut squash sitting on the counter. Not sure why I bought it in the first place. Soup, nah. The husband likes potato pancakes, maybe I can get away with this. I grated the onion in the bowl with the rest of the ingredients (lazy me), doubled the spice, and added a splash of mustard oil. The texture was smoother than latkes, and the taste of course was Indian appetizer. I served it with yogurt and lime pickle. Initially he was reserved in his praise, probably due to the dreaded squash ingredient. After a few bites he was a convert. Final ruling: "That's a winner."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was super easy and simple. delicious and fun. kids are split on it but we loved it. thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne Rippey
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
These were delicious & would go great with black beans I think. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Everyone in my house loved these! I substituted the bean flour for almond flour bc it was all i had. I think next time I will add some minced garlic to the onions. Such a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My husband loved them, my very picky son (who only eats pizza)surprised me by finishing his plate. Anything that is healthy and my son finishes deserves 6 stars. I could not find the garbanzo flour so I substituted it with some durum weat semolina flour. My son ate his with ketchup. Next time I will try to get the butternut pre cut cause that was a pain to cut and grate. I would also double the recipe. I only got to have one :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photohoot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash and Mascarpone Gnocchi

See how to make homemade gnocchi with butternut squash and mascarpone.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States