Butternut Squash Cajun Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
stunned how much I like these - and how different they are than any other squash recipe we've tried - we cut our squash more in cubes, which worked well too....... (actually, I usually clean, peel, and chop up several butternut squashes at once and freeze them - and that's what I used - and I'd simply cubed those..., so while I was a little dubious, I was pleased, oh yes, so very pleased with the results), can't say they got crispy, but I didn't miss the crisp....... the yum and spice was plenty good enough as is.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
So simple I'm kicking myself for never thinking to make "fries" from butternut. I upped the Cajun seasoning a bit and served with a tabasco spiked tarter sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Okay, not bad, but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Make as described, they are soooo good! (btw, 60 cal per cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Personally I loved them, DH not so much, so the left-over made a yummy soup for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Definitely an interesting take on butternut squash, its nice to mix it up from the butter and sugar heavy alternatives you see more frequently. I will definitely make again, though next time I think I need a better cajun spice. Tried to assemble my own from a recipe here and I think it was a little black pepper heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saco, Maine, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
love these...great alternative for fries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tclary2
Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Something different from sweet potato fries. Like the flavour! Thank you for another interesting way to have fries without potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I hate to give this such a low review, but it was not well received at our table, at all. The spice was too much (and I love spicy), some "fries" turned black, but they still were not crunchy. I followed the tips of some reviewers to dry them on a rack, as well as cooked them on the rack to allow the air to circulate to crisp them up. While I did not feel they were horrendous, my family did. I ate as many as I could and the rest went in the trash. Unfortunately, I was trying to surprise my husband who loves butternut squash and has been requesting some lately. He was sadly disappointed when he tried these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These were fantastically delicious! Like a few other reviewers, I found them to be a bit soggy, even when cut thin, so I'm planning to experiment with baking them longer at a much lower temperature to partially dehydrate them before baking them at 450. The taste is completely worth the trial and error though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryarachnid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States