Butternut Squash Cajun Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
DELICIOUS!! A great word to sum up this recipe. I made this as written (making my cajun seasoning from this site "Cajun Spice Mix") and baked for about 25 minutes. The house smelled wonderful when these were baking. I really enjoyed the taste of the s/p & cajun with the sweetness of the squash. It reminds me of sweet potato fries. This is the first time I've fixed a butternut squash and it most definitely will not be the last. Thanks OC for sharing this delicious recipe - I've already sent it to my mom and SIL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I mostly followed the cooking instructions, and cut thinner slices as I wanted a 'crispier' fry. I used PAM on a cookie sheet and laid the thin 'strips' out in rows. Sprinkled a no salt seasoning mix over the squash, and a light amount of sea salt. Baked for about 20 minutes as they were thinner pieces. Flipped once about halfway through. Have cooked these a couple times now and this is a keeper. They are delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I've made 'fries' from sweet potatoes, but I'm glad to try it using butternut squash, especially since it's so inexpensive this time of year. After many, many trials (but mostly errors) resulting in soggy, limp 'fries', here are my little hints: Cut the squash thin and narrow, kinda like 'fair fries'. If a mandoline is available, by all means, now is the time to break it out. If possible, let the squash strips air dry for a bit... just let them hang out on the kitchen counter on some paper towels while doing other things. Unlike potatoes, cut squash doesn't need to soak in water to prevent discoloration. Lastly (and this is my 'ah-ha' moment), bake the seasoned 'fries' on a parchment paper-lined sheet pan. By doing this, the need for oil or cooking spray is eliminated, allowing moisture in the squash to evaporate while baking rendering the 'fries' crisp and not soggy. This method of preparing butternut squash has quickly become the most requested among my crew ... and I'm pleased to give them good food that's good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Hi. I am the recipe submitter. If you like butternut squash these fries are excellent and are ZERO Weight Watcher PPTS! Butternut squash has more moisture than potatoes. So here are a few tips for handling that. First, it is important to blot out as much moisture as possible before cooking. Also, if you are looking for crispier fries, try cutting them thinner. As another reviewer mentioned, spray not only the baking sheet but the fries with cooking spray. If the fries are large enough, you can place them on a baking rack on top of the baking pan so the air can circulate beneath them and that will also help crisp the fries. Lastly, if they are not crisp enough you can bake them a little longer. With regard to the seasoning I use a homemade cajun seasoning without salt. Then I can control how much salt is added. Different brands of cajun seasoning have different amounts of salt and therefore you may prefer to either adjust the amount of salt or leave it out altogether. I hope these tips are helpful; and I hope you enjoy the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Spicy from the Cajun seasoning and sweet from the squash---great combination! These are much easier to make than the normal kind of shake and bake roasted vegetables! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Simple, easy, and delicious! Called them Superman Fries and my two 4-year-olds ate 'em up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I looved these!! I really struggled with the preparation of the squash though. My fries did not come out nearly as nice looking as the pictures. I needed to bake almost 30 min for a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I loved it! Great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States