Butternut Squash Cajun Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
A nice way to eat butternut squash. They have a kick to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
These were quick, easy, and yummy! Not to mention nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
We enjoyed these very much, I left them in the oven for a bit longer to help crisp up. I've found with all "fries" it helps to try to cut them uniform in size so they cook evenly. Thanks for posting this new way to use the butternut squash I grew in my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I looved these!! I really struggled with the preparation of the squash though. My fries did not come out nearly as nice looking as the pictures. I needed to bake almost 30 min for a good crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I've made 'fries' from sweet potatoes, but I'm glad to try it using butternut squash, especially since it's so inexpensive this time of year. After many, many trials (but mostly errors) resulting in soggy, limp 'fries', here are my little hints: Cut the squash thin and narrow, kinda like 'fair fries'. If a mandoline is available, by all means, now is the time to break it out. If possible, let the squash strips air dry for a bit... just let them hang out on the kitchen counter on some paper towels while doing other things. Unlike potatoes, cut squash doesn't need to soak in water to prevent discoloration. Lastly (and this is my 'ah-ha' moment), bake the seasoned 'fries' on a parchment paper-lined sheet pan. By doing this, the need for oil or cooking spray is eliminated, allowing moisture in the squash to evaporate while baking rendering the 'fries' crisp and not soggy. This method of preparing butternut squash has quickly become the most requested among my crew ... and I'm pleased to give them good food that's good for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Hi. I am the recipe submitter. If you like butternut squash these fries are excellent and are ZERO Weight Watcher PPTS! Butternut squash has more moisture than potatoes. So here are a few tips for handling that. First, it is important to blot out as much moisture as possible before cooking. Also, if you are looking for crispier fries, try cutting them thinner. As another reviewer mentioned, spray not only the baking sheet but the fries with cooking spray. If the fries are large enough, you can place them on a baking rack on top of the baking pan so the air can circulate beneath them and that will also help crisp the fries. Lastly, if they are not crisp enough you can bake them a little longer. With regard to the seasoning I use a homemade cajun seasoning without salt. Then I can control how much salt is added. Different brands of cajun seasoning have different amounts of salt and therefore you may prefer to either adjust the amount of salt or leave it out altogether. I hope these tips are helpful; and I hope you enjoy the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These "fries" came out very mushy and not at all crunchy. My oven temp may be to blame. The addition of the cajun spice was very tasty and I will use this combo in the future but won't make "fries".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I mostly followed the cooking instructions, and cut thinner slices as I wanted a 'crispier' fry. I used PAM on a cookie sheet and laid the thin 'strips' out in rows. Sprinkled a no salt seasoning mix over the squash, and a light amount of sea salt. Baked for about 20 minutes as they were thinner pieces. Flipped once about halfway through. Have cooked these a couple times now and this is a keeper. They are delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States