Butternut Squash Cajun Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Something different from sweet potato fries. Like the flavour! Thank you for another interesting way to have fries without potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I hate to give this such a low review, but it was not well received at our table, at all. The spice was too much (and I love spicy), some "fries" turned black, but they still were not crunchy. I followed the tips of some reviewers to dry them on a rack, as well as cooked them on the rack to allow the air to circulate to crisp them up. While I did not feel they were horrendous, my family did. I ate as many as I could and the rest went in the trash. Unfortunately, I was trying to surprise my husband who loves butternut squash and has been requesting some lately. He was sadly disappointed when he tried these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These were fantastically delicious! Like a few other reviewers, I found them to be a bit soggy, even when cut thin, so I'm planning to experiment with baking them longer at a much lower temperature to partially dehydrate them before baking them at 450. The taste is completely worth the trial and error though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherryarachnid

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The flavor was really good. The hot with the sweet worked really well. I just wish it had crisped up better. It was my first time making anything with butternut squash and so i didn't realise how prep intensive it was. And it cooks down to alot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB in NC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
These came out less like fries and more like a side dish of squash. I did enjoy, but the name was a bit misleading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Very wonderful recipe! I have always wanted to know how to cook butternut squash, and this is now my favorite food!! Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These turned out good, despite all the other reviewers tips I used they still were not very crispy. I guess they probably need to be even thinner than I cut them but the thinnest ones started to burn after 25 minutes in the oven so probably cut back the time if you can get them stick thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
These were okay but I don't think I'll make them again. Nothing special about them or the flavor. I did salt them and place between paper towels to drain excess moisture as well as bake on a cooling rack on top of cookie sheet to help them crisp and that didn't even work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
yummy...too bad I didnt blot the moisture or use salt...I did have some hunks with the skin I also put in. These were actually better. Pieces that couldnt be cut to french fry size. Places them skin side down....liked it even more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
these had good flavor but were very mushy definitely not fries. we liked them but they were like mashed potatoes. listened to others advice and cooked longer even doubled the time that suggested cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blevande

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States