Butternut Squash Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by katamom
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Substituted half of the all purpose flour with whole wheat flour. I think my loaf was a little denser because of the whole wheat. I also turned the rest into dinner rolls baking at 375 for about 14 or so minutes. Brushed with butter and they turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katamom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BisonMeatLoaf
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This is a five star bread. Taste is great, bread-life is very long and can be served several ways. I too ended up modifying the recipe. I used the brown sugar 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/3 cup of barley flour. I still used more than 8 cups of bread flour. Next time I'll add a 1/4c of gluten whey with the yeast just to exaggerate the rise and go 50/50 brown sugar and date sugar. I used a Breville 800XL oven 375/30 mins with a stainless shot glass full of boiling water to create steam pressure. I posted a picture here of the bread in two forms: Half the dough I used for Dinner rolls made on a round stone...came out very nice - Perfect for those Bison breakfast sausages I picked up from Buffalogal.com. The second half of the dough was put into the fridge for two days and then left to stand covered in the kitchen for two hours before going into pans - one cast iron, the other porcelain: both filmed in grape-seed oil. The cast iron won again but by the smallest of margins. I'm going to try the one loaf for french toast and the other for flavored melted frosting I've been pondering. You know, you could roll the dough out flat and turn it into a pecan roll. Wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great recipe, makes a soft fluffy bread. Looking forward to making these as rolls for thanksgiving. I used acorn squash instead of butternut, any mashed veggie would probably work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrammaJean
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this today and it is so good. The recipe made 1 extra large and 1 regular loaf. It is so easy to make and my husband was so impressed when he came home and saw it that he had to take a photo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrammaJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Yum! I didn't really make any changes, other than my usual method of tossing this in the bread machine to make the dough (part laziness, part having other things to do). I had cubed, frozen butternut squash leftover from a trip to Costco last year and thought I'd better use it up. So, I boiled it until soft then pureed it in the food processer. A perfect amount for this bread--it equaled 1 1/4 cups. :o) I thought this had a nice flavor, although the crumb is a tad dry, but otherwise was good. Bf thought it was weird but he's not a fan of butternut squash, although I didn't really think the flavor was prominent. It's a nice bread to go with soup, which is how we ate it tonight. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I have halved the recipe and made the dough in the bread machine. It always turns out and tastes wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
My five year old went nuts over this bread..made great french toast also. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I brought this bread to Thanksgiving dinner at my grandmother's. Everybody loved it! This recipe worked out great for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovecooking01
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Wonderful! I used all whole grain flour and added 1/4 cup vital wheat gluten. I also used honey in place of the sugar and cut the milk to 3/4 cup. Also I made two loaves instead of three - one I baked plain, the other I kneaded n cinnamon, ground cloves and 1/2 cup raisins. Nice high and fluffy loaves! Hubby adores it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This bread tasted great! I love the soft texture and beautiful yellow color. It was also very easy to make! Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States