Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This soup is totally fabulous. It is comforting and filling and even tastier the next day. I'm making a huge batch to freeze for winter dinners. try adding a dash of cayenne or curry powderfor some more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
Excellent! I cut the oil and butter in half, and used fat-free half and half instead of cream. Wonderful! Although the recipe said to peel the squash, I didn't (skin was too thick to use a potato peeler, and I was pressed for time - didn't feel like peeling it with a knife). Big mistake! Even though I pureed the soup, I could still detect a bit of peel in each bite. I'll know better next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
My Chinese relatives LOVED this dish! They couldn't stop asking me what's in this soup. They never even heard of butternut squash before and was very curious about it, usually they're not with foods. I love the way the vegetable broth adds a tang to the soup (I thought the cream was spoiled but realized it's the broth) Delicious! I will have to substitute non-dairy creamy for heavy cream next time for health reasons. Thanks sooo much Phonelady!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This soup is great! Instead of heavy cream I used half and half. It's not as creamy and rich if you don't add some cream at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
The flavor of the bisque is outstanding. I served it on Thankgiving as the appetizer with yam muffins. I think I could stopped serving there! My mistake was over thinning it with broth which I will correct the next 1000 times I make it. Thin slowly to your preference. I learned, but it was still great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
This soup was delicious. Extremely easy and quick to make. I just used my immersion blender to quickly puree the soup. Hubby thought it was very good too! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This was the perfect first course for Thanksgiving Dinner. My family loved it! Thanks so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Truly excellent. It's tasty, warming and filling. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! It is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Wonderful! Rich tasting, healthy, simple and delicous. Have made it twice and I will make it again for company. I don't use too much spice which really lets the squash flavor shine. The first time it was very thick even with some cream in it. Put it on top of grilled chicken and chesse ravioli for a pasta thats just like one I get in a good restaurant! The next time I used a 1/4 cup more stock to thin it a bit--both are great. Hubby loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States