Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Delicious! I skipped the cream, and went lighter on the nutmeg. I also used precut squash to cut back on time. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I make this and freeze it... Everyone raves about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I'm in love! I give this 5 stars because of the wonderful tips and additions given by other reviewers. For me personally, I always read the reviews and they become part of the recipe so I think it's fair to 5-star a recipe even if it ends up being a bit different than the original. Like many others, I halved my approx. foot long squash and baked the 2 halves. I sprinkled the cut sides with nutmeg. While it was cooking, I cooked half an onion in some olive oil with 1tsp jarred minced ginger, added carrots and an entire gala apple cored but unpeeled. I added my pepper here along with a touch of nutmeg and cinnamon (no salt). I added my carton of vegie stock (I realized too late that it was almost 4 cups). When I diced my roasted squash, I felt the amount of stock would be fine compared to how much squash I had. Brought it to a boil and simmered on low for an hour as I had to run out the door. When I got back, I dumped it all into my super duper blender and let it run until no more chunks were visible, poured it back into a pot and tested it out. The texture and consistency were perfecto! The taste was deadly!!! I didn't add cream as we have lactose issues but I was thinking if serving to guests, a decorative splash of plain whipping cream would be mind blowing. The only thing I would change from what I did was only add nutmeg once, either on my squash before baking or when cooking the other vegies. This soup was restaurant quality and I'm thinking w/out cream it'll freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Very easy to make and definitely a whole food. My 17-year old step-son loves this so I can get an orange vegetable in him easily. This can cook while you prepare all your other things so I highly recommend this as easy, nutritious and very simple. A stick blender is a much more simple way to get all ingredients mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BluesDivaCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Fantastic! Read others reviews first and added a whole sliced golden delicious apple (with the peel) with the carrots. Used two butternut squashes and probably double the carrots it called for (I was doubling and then adding more). Used chicken stock, added minced garlic, ginger and fat free half and half in place of cream. loved it. will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Loved this! I also roasted the squash before the rest of the steps and I added a bit of garlic and a bay leaf and left out the nutmeg. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was so delicious! I roasted the squash before, as others suggested, and used one can of chicken broth & half a can of vegetable broth. I used the heavy cream, too. I still felt like it could use something else, so I added a pinch of allspice in the end - I recommend it! The allspice pulled it all together and made the flavors pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
this was okay, but i found the carrot overpowering. i already love the carrot ginger soup on this site, and was looking for something different. also -- definitely add a dollop of sour cream. brings out all the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Made this for the first time tonight and it's just wonderful. I did make a few adjustments to make sure it wasn't bland (added a diced jalapeno & a little ginger), didn't bother with the cream but added a dollop of sour cream to my bowl...YUM! Can't wait to have some more tomorrow! Thanks so much for sharing. (OH, definitely cook the squash first - I pierced it and put it in the oven at 350 for @40min and it was so easy to manage)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I’ve made several recipes for butternut squash soup and this recipe was the least complex. I expected we’d like it, but I was surprised we all loved it. I used roasted butternut squash that I had grown in my garden, freshly grated nutmeg, and my homemade chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth just because I prefer the richness of the chicken broth in the bisque. Simple basic flavors that were perfect. I may add a granny smith apple the next time just as a personal preference but it is perfectly wonderful without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States